Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

What is the points system used in F1?

During an F1 Grand Prix, both drivers and teams earn points which go towards their score in the championship. Whichever team and driver has the highest total by the end of the year is named champion.

Leclerc win Australia © XPB

The F1 World Championship consists of two distinct competitions.

There is one championship for Formula 1 drivers, and another for Formula 1 teams, or constructors.

Drivers who finish in the top 10 in any given race score points for both themselves and their teams. At the end of the season, the individual and team with the most points are named champions.

In the event of a tie, the teams and drivers with the most wins in the season are ranked higher.

Formula 1 drivers score points by finishing in the top 10. If a driver opts to change teams during a season, they retain their individual driver points, and their previous team also keeps the points scored while they were driving for them.

An example of the above is Max Verstappen, who started the 2016 season with Toro Rosso before switching to Red Bull after four races. The points he scored in the first races remained with Toro Rosso, but Verstappen himself carried over his driver points to his new seat.

Each F1 team runs two cars and both are able to score points. A team can achieve a maximum of 44 World Championship points per race.

A new rule introduced in 2019 grants the driver with the fastest lap during a race an extra bonus point, providing that they also finish within the top 10.

The points system used by F1

Position Championship points
1st 25
2nd 18
3rd 15
4th 12
5th 10
6th 8
7th 6
8th 4
9th 2
10th 1
Fastest lap (if in top 10) 1 bonus point
LATEST Jos Verstappen slams Red Bull: The era of dominance appears over