Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

The Chinese Grand Prix, which has been a fixture on the Formula 1 calendar since 2004, has been cancelled in recent years due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but looks set to make a comeback from 2024 onwards. Despite being called the Shanghai International Circuit, the track is located far from the eponymous metropolis.


First held 2004
Laps 56
Circuit length 5.451 kilometres
Lap record 1:32.238 (2004)
Winner 2019 Lewis Hamilton
Second in 2019 Valtteri Bottas
Third in 2019 Sebastian Vettel


Winner 2019 Lewis Hamilton
Winner 2018 Daniel Ricciardo
Winner 2017 Lewis Hamilton
Winner 2016 Nico Rosberg
Winner 2015 Lewis Hamilton

At what time does the Chinese Grand Prix 2024 start?

The last time the Chinese Grand Prix took place was in 2019, before the outbreak of the coronavirus in the Asian country. Up until 2023, there hasn't been a Grand Prix in China. However, in the 2024 season, the GP is back on the calendar and returns as the fifth Grand Prix of the season.

What time does the Chinese GP start?

The Chinese GP is scheduled for Sunday, April 21, and is expected to begin at 08:00. The first free practice and sprint shootout sessions take place on Friday, April 19. Then, on Saturday, April 20, the Sprint Race and Qualifying will be held." The sprint race will be held at 04:00 UK time, and the qualifying will be at 08:00 UK time.

Timetable Chinese GP

Session Date Time
Free practice 1 Friday 19 April -
Sprint shootout Friday 19 April -
Sprintrace Saturday 20 April -
Qualification Saturday 20 April -
Race Sunday 21 April -

History of the F1 China GP

Despite China's lack of motorsport heritage, the Chinese Grand Prix has been a regular fixture on the Formula 1 calendar since 2004. No expenses were spared during the design and construction of the track.

Located on the outskirts of Shanghai, the 5.4-kilometre Shanghai International Circuit features a blend of high-speed corners, slow kinks, and two long straights. Famous track designer Hermann Tilke created the circuit with the Chinese word "Shang" in mind, which means "to ascend".

The long straights between Turns 13 and 14 provide an ample amount of overtaking opportunities, especially with the use of DRS, which in recent years has led to some exciting racing. However, focusing on straight-line speed alone isn't enough, as the second sector features a mixture of slow and medium-speed turns, and this means that striking a balance in the car's set-up might prove tricky to master for some.

Some of the circuit's more memorable moments include Lewis Hamilton beaching his car at the entry of the pit lane in 2007, Sebastian Vettel winning Red Bull's first-ever Grand Prix in 2009, and Nico Rosberg securing his and Mercedes' first wins in 2012.

Whilst the Chinese Grand Prix is absent from the 2022 F1 calendar, the event will return from 2023 onwards, with the venue having signed a contract to remain on the schedule until 2025.

Most successful F1 drivers and teams

Hamilton is the most successful driver at the Chinese Grand Prix, having won the event on six occasions. Rosberg has two wins to his name, whilst Fernando Alonso is also a double winner.

Given their dominance in recent years, Mercedes are the constructor with the most victories in China. The team have collected six wins at the track. Ferrari are just behind on four, whilst McLaren have taken three victories and Red Bull have two.

The 2019 Chinese Grand Prix

Unfortunately, the Chinese Grand Prix was cancelled in 2020 and 2021 due to the coronavirus pandemic, and has been left off the 2022 schedule for the same reason.

The last race in 2019 saw Mercedes romp to their third consecutive 1-2 finish of the season, with Lewis Hamilton getting ahead of teammate Valteri Bottas at the start after the Finn secured pole position on Saturday.

Sebastian Vettel finished third, whilst Red Bull's Max Verstappen and Ferrari's Charles Leclerc rounded out the top five places. Pierre Gasly secured the first fastest lap of his career.

LATEST Andretti's 'bullet' as Leclerc quashes latest Ferrari concern - RacingNews365 Review