Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Mexican Grand Prix 2021

Revised F1 Mexican GP starting grid after multiple penalties

Here is the provisional starting grid, including confirmed penalties, for the F1 2021 Mexican GP at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez.

Bottas Mexico
To news overview © Mercedes

Valtteri Bottas will start the Mexican Grand Prix from pole position, after Mercedes surprised Red Bull in qualifying on Saturday.

Bottas led the first Mercedes 1-2 of the season with teammate Lewis Hamilton starting from second, as pre-event favourite Max Verstappen trailed in third.

Sergio Perez made it an all-Red Bull second row, ahead of AlphaTauri's Pierre Gasly and Ferrari's Carlos Sainz.

Daniel Ricciardo and Charles Leclerc will line-up on row four as the battle between McLaren and Ferrari continues.

Due to a series of grid penalties, Sebastian Vettel will be the first driver with a free tyre choice from ninth place alongside former teammate Kimi Raikkonen.

George Russell will start from 16th and is the first driver with a grid penalty for a new gearbox.

Behind the Williams driver are Yuki Tsunoda, Lando Norris, Esteban Ocon and Lance Stroll who have all taken on new power unit elements, so have been demoted to the back of the grid. They have been ordered by their qualifying position.

This starting grid will be updated until the FIA confirm the final starting grid ahead of the Grand Prix.

Starting Grid: F1 2021 Mexican Grand Prix

Position Driver Team
1 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
3 Max Verstappen Red Bull
4 Sergio Perez Red Bull
5 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri
6 Carlos Sainz Ferrari
7 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren
8 Charles Leclerc Ferrari
9 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin
10 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo
11 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo
12 Fernando Alonso Alpine
13 Nicholas Latifi Williams
14 Mick Schumacher Haas
15 Nikita Mazepin Haas
16 George Russell* Williams
17 Yuki Tsunoda* AlphaTauri
18 Lando Norris* McLaren
19 Esteban Ocon* Alpine
20 Lance Stroll* Aston Martin

Also interesting:

Video: The secrets of the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez circuit

Follow Rudy van Buren as he takes you on a flying lap around the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, home of the F1 Mexican Grand Prix.

F1 2021 Mexico City Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

Join the conversation!

LATEST Perez's frank Red Bull admission as Larson Indy 500 doubt explained - RacingNews365 Review