Welcome at RN365

You are logged in. Benefit directly from all the benefits of your account:

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits

Welcome at RN365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
To circuits

Monaco GP

Circuit de Monaco, Monte Carlo
  • FP1 27 May 2022 -
  • FP2 27 May 2022 -
  • FP3 28 May 2022 -
  • Quali 28 May 2022 -
  • Race 29 May 2022 -


First held 1950
Laps 78
Circuit length 3.337 kilometer
Fastest lap 1:14.260 (2018)
Winner 2019 Lewis Hamilton
Second in 2019 Sebastian Vettel
Third in 2019 Valtteri Bottas


Winner 2019 Lewis Hamilton
Winner 2018 Daniel Ricciardo
Winner 2017 Sebastian Vettel
Winner 2016 Lewis Hamilton
Winner 2015 Nico Rosberg

The crown jewel in the F1 calendar, the Monaco Grand Prix is held around the streets of Monte Carlo on the last weekend of May each year. A truly one of a kind spectacle, the race epitomizes the glamorous side of F1.

F1 Monaco Grand Prix 2021

Held annually in late May or early June, the Monaco GP is considered one of the most prestigious automobile races in the world.

Run since 1929, the race - along with the Indianapolis 500 and the 24 Hours of Le Mans - make up the Triple Crown of Motorsport. The race is held on the narrow streets of Monaco, making it one of the most demanding events on the calendar. It's also the only Grand Prix that doesn't adhere to the FIA's mandated 305-kilometre minimum race distance.

The event was part of the first World Championship of Drivers in 1950, and was twice designated as the European GP in 1955 and 1963.


The Monaco GP was held before the current World Championship format, with the first event taking place in 1929 and won by William Grover-Williams. An invitation-only event, not all those that were invited decided to attend the race with the leading Maserati and Alfa Romeo drivers sitting out.

Louis Chiron won the 1931 race in a Bugatti to become the first Monegasque driver to win the event. As of 2021, he remains the only native of Monaco to do so.

It didn't take long for the race to grow in stature, with the AIACR recognizing the most important race of each of its affiliated national automobile clubs as International Grands Prix. In 1933, Monaco was given this designation along with the French, Belgian, Italian and Spanish GP.

After the Second World War, the Monaco GP wasn't run until 1948 due to financial reasons with Nino Farina winning in a Maserati.

Formula 1 and the Monaco GP

The death of Prince Louis II led the cancellation of the 1949 event, however it was included in the new F1 World Drivers' Championship the following year. Juan Manuel Fangio won his first World Championship race at the 1950 event, while a 51-year-old Chiron finished third.

No races were held in 1953 or 1954 but returned in 1955, beginning a streak of 64 consecutive years with the Monaco GP being held. That year saw Chiron become the oldest driver to compete in an F1 GP at the age of 56.

While Fangio's win in 1957 made him the first repeated winner of the event, Graham Hill established himself as the "King of Monaco" by winning the race five times in the 1960s, his last coming in 1969. The win was his final F1 victory.

The start of the 1970s saw more safety measures implemented at the track, with the first alterations taking place in 1972, while Bernie Ecclestone pushed for the number of entrants at the race to be increased as race organisers usually kept it at around 16 cars.

Races in Monte Carlo have been known to throw up unexpected results, like in 1982 when Alain Prost led with four laps remaining. The Frenchman spun off on the wet track, with Riccardo Patrese inheriting the lead. The Italian spun with a lap and a half to go with Didier Pironi leading Andrea de Cesaris. Both drivers ran out of fuel on the final lap, opening the door for Patrese to get a bump-start and take his first career win.

Prost and Senna dominated the event from 1984 to 1993, splitting the wins between the two of them with the Brazilian coming out on top six to four. The Brazilian passed Hill's record for most wins at Monaco in 1993, beating Damon Hill and Jean Alesi to the finish line.

The 1994 race was the first race following the death of Roland Ratzenberger and Senna two weeks earlier at Imola. Karl Wendlinger crashed his Sauber in the tunnel and went into a coma, missing the rest of the season while Michael Schumacher took the chequered flag.

Olivier Panis started the 1996 Monaco GP in 14th spot but managed to come out on top, taking his first and only F1 win and the last for the Ligier team in a race that saw only three cars cross the finish line.

Schumacher matched Hill's record of five wins but caused controversy at the 2006 event when he stopped his car at the Rascasse hairpin which prevented others from improving their lap time. The German claimed it wasn't intentional, however the FIA sent him to the back of the grid.

The Monaco GP was cancelled in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, making it the first time the race wasn't run since 1954. It returned in 2021 with Red Bull's Max Verstappen winning his first Monaco GP.

Most successful drivers and teams

Senna remains the most successful driver of the event having won the Monaco GP six times, with Hill and Schumacher sitting on five victories. Prost ended his career with four, while Stirling Moss, Jackie Stewart, Nico Rosberg and Hamilton all sit on three wins.

Hill remains the only driver to have won the Triple Crown - Monaco GP, Indianapolis 500 and the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

In terms of constructors, McLaren are far and away the most successful team with 15 wins compared to Ferrari's 10. Mercedes have won the event eight times with Lotus sitting on seven.

The Monaco Grand Prix 2020

Unfortunately, the 2020 edition of the Monaco Grand Prix was called off due to the effects of the coronavirus. The 2019 race was won by Lewis Hamilton, who was pressured by Dutchman Max Verstappen until the very end, though the Red Bull driver would be penalised for an unsafe release in the pits.

The ensuing penalty promoted Sebastian Vettel to second and Valtteri Bottas to third.

When is the 2021 Monaco Grand Prix on the F1 calendar?

The 2021 Monaco Grand Prix is scheduled to take place on the weekend of May 20-23 and is provisionally set to be the fifth round of the Formula 1 season. The first two free practice sessions will take place on May 20, with qualifying on Saturday, May 22 at 15:00 CET.

What time does the Monaco Grand Prix start?

The Monaco Grand Prix starts on Sunday, May 23 at 15:00 CET. The race can be followed live on RacingNews365’s blog and watched on F1 TV.

F1 Monaco GP 2021 Schedule

Session Date Time (UK)
Free Practice 1 Thursday 20 May 10:30 - 11:30
Free Practice 2 Thursday 20 May 14:00 - 15:00
Free Practice 3 Saturday 22 May 11:00 - 12:00
Qualifying Saturday 22 May 14:00 - 15:00
Race Sunday 24 May 14:00