Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Max Verstappen

The full list of World Champions that Verstappen has joined

With Max Verstappen winning the 2021 F1 World Drivers' Championship, the Dutch driver joins an elite and small list of names...

Verstappen Abu Dhabi 2021
To news overview © Red Bull Content Pool / Getty Images

Max Verstappen sealed the F1 World Drivers' Championship in Abu Dhabi on Sunday, beating Lewis Hamilton to the title by just eight points after 22 races.

Verstappen becomes the 34th World Champion in Formula 1, since the sport became a fully-fledged World Championship in 1950.

Given that there's just 34 names, Verstappen joins the short list of the most elite drivers the sport has ever seen.

It also gives him something in common with his girlfriend's father, Nelson Piquet. The Brazilian driver won three World Championships during the 1980s, meaning that Piquet and Verstappen now have a new dinner table conversation topic...

Stretching back all the way to 1950, here's the full list of World Champion drivers that Verstappen now joins.

All F1 Drivers' World Champions

Year Driver
1950 Giuseppe Farina (ITA)
1951 Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)
1952 Alberto Ascari (ITA)
1953 Alberto Ascari (ITA)
1954 Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)
1955 Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)
1956 Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)
1957 Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)
1958 Mike Hawthorn (GBR)
1959 Jack Brabham (AUS)
1960 Jack Brabham (AUS)
1961 Phil Hill (USA)
1962 Graham Hill (GBR)
1963 Jim Clark (GBR)
1964 John Surtees (GBR)
1965 Jim Clark (GBR)
1966 Jack Brabham (AUS)
1967 Denis Hulme (NZL)
1968 Graham Hill (GBR)
1969 Jackie Stewart (GBR)
1970 Jochen Rindt (AUT)
1971 Jackie Stewart (GBR)
1972 Emerson Fittipaldi (BRA)
1973 Jackie Stewart (GBR)
1974 Emerson Fittipaldi (BRA)
1975 Niki Lauda (AUT)
1976 James Hunt (GBR)
1977 Niki Lauda (AUT)
1978 Mario Andretti (USA)
1979 Jody Scheckter (RSA)
1980 Alan Jones (AUS)
1981 Nelson Piquet (BRA)
1982 Keke Rosberg (FIN)
1983 Nelson Piquet (BRA)
1984 Niki Lauda (AUT)
1985 Alain Prost (FRA)
1986 Alain Prost (FRA)
1987 Nelson Piquet (BRA)
1988 Ayrton Senna (BRA)
1989 Alain Prost (FRA)
1990 Ayrton Senna (BRA)
1991 Ayrton Senna (BRA)
1992 Nigel Mansell (GBR)
1993 Alain Prost (FRA)
1994 Michael Schumacher (GER)
1995 Michael Schumacher (GER)
1996 Damon Hill (GBR)
1997 Jacques Villeneuve (CAN)
1998 Mika Häkkinen (FIN)
1999 Mika Häkkinen (FIN)
2000 Michael Schumacher (GER)
2001 Michael Schumacher (GER)
2002 Michael Schumacher (GER)
2003 Michael Schumacher (GER)
2004 Michael Schumacher (GER)
2005 Fernando Alonso (SPA)
2006 Fernando Alonso (SPA)
2007 Kimi Räikkönen (FIN)
2008 Lewis Hamilton GBR)
2009 Jenson Button GBR)
2010 Sebastian Vettel (GER)
2011 Sebastian Vettel (GER)
2012 Sebastian Vettel (GER)
2013 Sebastian Vettel (GER)
2014 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
2015 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
2016 Nico Rosberg (GER)
2017 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
2018 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
2019 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
2020 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
2021 Max Verstappen (NED)

Also interesting:

Video: How much does each Formula 1 driver earn?

RacingNews365.com has called upon inside sources and paddock reporting to bring you the most accurate list of driver salaries that's available!

F1 2021 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

Join the conversation!

BREAKING FIA changes controversial 'Verstappen rule' to offer Antonelli early F1 debut hope