Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Formula 1

Abu Dhabi F1 Testing - Day 1 Results (Morning times)

Here are the latest times from the Yas Marina Circuit, where F1 action is underway for a two-day Pirelli tyre and young driver test session.

To news overview © McLaren

Formula 1 2021 draws to a close this week with a two-day test at the Yas Marina Circuit. Technically, there are two tests taking place concurrently.

One of these for Pirelli, with all of the teams taking part in 18-inch tyre testing using mule cars - modified 2018 cars built to run the newer, bigger wheels that are set to be introduced in 2022. Williams, while able to take part in this test if they wanted to, aren't participating as they never built a mule car for this purpose.

Separately, a dedicated Young Driver Test is underway. All of the teams are fielding a junior driver (of two Grands Prix experience or fewer), who are able to drive the 2021 cars on the outgoing 13-inch wheels.

The morning session of the first day saw McLaren's IndyCar driver Pato O'Ward get his first experience in an F1 car, where he set the pace.

The full times are listed below.

Abu Dhabi F1 Testing - Day 1 Results (Morning times)

Position Driver Team Time Laps Car
1. Pato O'Ward McLaren 1:25.260 48 2021
2. Oscar Piastri Alpine 1:25.480 59 2021
3. Nyck de Vries Mercedes 1:25.549 35 2021
4. Nick Yelloly Aston Martin 1:26.254 54 2021
5. Guanyu Zhou Alfa Romeo 1:26.263 42 2021
6. Liam Lawson AlphaTauri 1:26.365 62 2021
7. Lance Stroll Aston Martin 1:26.579 64 Mule
8. Juri Vips Red Bull 1:26.647 71 2021
9. Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:26.989 87 Mule
10. Antonio Fuoco Ferrari 1:27.324 70 2021
11. Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 1:27.348 50 Mule
12. Logan Sargeant Williams 1:27.476 76 2021
13. Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 1:27.508 36 Mule
14. Esteban Ocon Alpine 1:28.112 58 Mule
15. Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:28.978 47 Mule
16. Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo 1:29.601 47 Mule
17. George Russell Mercedes 1:30.134 57 Mule
18. Mick Schumacher Haas 1:30.345 25 Mule

F1 2021 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

Join the conversation!

BREAKING FIA changes controversial 'Verstappen rule' to offer Antonelli early F1 debut hope