Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Dutch Grand Prix 2021

Starting Grid: F1 2021 Dutch Grand Prix

Here is the provisional starting grid, including confirmed penalties, for the F1 2021 Dutch Grand Prix at Zandvoort.

Here is the provisional starting grid for Sunday's F1 Dutch Grand Prix at the Circuit Zandvoort, located on the northern coast of the Netherlands.

Red Bull's Max Verstappen will start from pole position, after a last gasp showdown between himself and Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton. The two title rivals line up on the front row for the first time since their Silverstone clash, and all eyes will be on the two protagonists during the short dash to the first corner.

While Verstappen has the high ground with pole position, he faces pressure from two Mercedes drivers as it's Valtteri Bottas who lines up in third on the grid. Fourth place, however, is a little more reassuring for the Dutch driver as it's stablemate Pierre Gasly, who finished as best of the rest on Saturday. The Frenchman slots his AlphaTauri in just behind the two Mercedes drivers.

As expected, Sergio Perez has dropped from his 16th place grid slot. The Mexican driver, knocked out in Q1, has been fitted with a new engine and triggers a penalty to take the pain now, on a weekend where his qualifying performance had already resulted in a poor grid slot.

Williams' Nicholas Latifi also drops to the very back with a pitlane start, after making it into Q2. The Canadian crashed late in Q2 and has required a new gearbox and has also been fitted with a new front wing, breaking parc ferme rules.

This starting grid is provisional and will be updated as required as information is confirmed by the FIA.

Provisional Starting Grid: Formula 1 Dutch Grand Prix 2021

Position Driver Team
1. Verstappen Red Bull
2. Hamilton Mercedes
3. Bottas Mercedes
4. Gasly AlphaTauri
5. Leclerc Ferrari
6. Sainz Ferrari
7. Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo
8. Ocon Alpine
9. Alonso Alpine
10. Ricciardo McLaren
11. Russell Williams
12. Stroll Aston Martin
13. Norris McLaren
14. Tsunoda AlphaTauri
15. Vettel Aston Martin
16. Kubica Alfa Romeo
17. Schumacher Haas
18. Mazepin Haas
Pitlane start Perez * Red Bull
Pitlane start Latifi * Williams

Also interesting:

Video: The secrets of the the new Zandvoort F1 circuit

Follow Rudy van Buren as he takes you on a flying lap around the home of the Dutch Grand Prix at Zandvoort.

F1 2021 Dutch Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

Join the conversation!

LATEST Shock Alonso announcement followed by huge Aston Martin commitment