Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Dutch Grand Prix 2021

The last 10 pole-sitters and race winners at the Dutch GP

Formula 1 returns to the Dutch Grand Prix for the first time in 36 years. Let's take a look at which drivers have been triumphant at Zandvoort in the past.

The last time Formula 1 had a Dutch Grand Prix was in 1985, when most of the current F1 field weren't even born.

There has never been a home winner of the Dutch GP, but Max Verstappen will be hoping to change that fact this weekend at the iconic Zandvoort circuit.

Due to the narrow track layout and the high-speed, flowing nature of the circuit, qualifying is expected to be very important.

It would be unfair to compare statistics from over 35 years ago to give you an indicator as to whether track position will be king.

But, for reference, just three times in the last 10 Dutch GP has the pole-sitter gone on to win the race.

Rene Arnoux was excellent over one lap in his Renault around Zandvoort, but has only been victorious at the event once in his F1 career.

Last 10 pole-sitters at the Dutch Grand Prix

Year Driver Team
1976 Ronnie Peterson March
1977 Mario Andretti Lotus
1978 Mario Andretti Lotus
1979 Rene Arnoux Renault
1980 Rene Arnoux Renault
1981 Alain Prost Renault
1982 Rene Arnoux Renault
1983 Nelson Piquet Brabham
1984 Alain Prost McLaren
1985 Nelson Piquet Brabham

The most successful driver at the Dutch GP has been Jim Clark, winning the event four times. Jackie Stewart and Niki Lauda have taken victory on three occasions each, with McLaren winning the last two races.

The last Dutch GP in 1985 was a classic. Lauda charged through the field from 10th place on the grid and fended off McLaren teammate Alain Prost in the final 12 laps for his final ever win in F1.

It was a stunning drive from Lauda, as he beat his great rival by just two-tenths of a second.

If Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton are separated by that margin at the chequered flag this weekend, it promises to be a thrilling race.

Last 10 race winners at the Dutch Grand Prix

Year Driver Team
1976 James Hunt McLaren
1977 Niki Lauda Ferrari
1978 Mario Andretti Lotus
1979 Alan Jones Williams
1980 Nelson Piquet Brabham
1981 Alain Prost Renault
1982 Didier Pironi Ferrari
1983 Rene Arnoux Ferrari
1984 Alain Prost McLaren
1985 Niki Lauda McLaren

Also interesting:

F1 Podcast: Lessons to learn for F1 after Spa-Francorchamps disaster

It's time for the latest episode of our new Formula 1 podcast, with F1 journalists Dieter Rencken, Thomas Maher and Mike Seymour discussing the disastrous Belgian Grand Prix...

F1 2021 Dutch Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

Join the conversation!

RESULTS 2024 F1 Hungarian Grand Prix - Qualifying