Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

Newgarden stuns with final lap overtake to win Indy 500

A dramatic end to the 108th running of the Indianapolis 500 saw Josef Newgarden crowned a two-time winner of the famous race.

To news overview © Matt Fraver/IMS Photo

Josef Newgarden produced a stunning final lap overtake to win the Indianapolis 500 for the second time in two years.

Newgarden is the first driver since Helio Castroneves in 2001 and 2002 to win back-to-back events.

The Tennessee-born driver was engaged in a late-race battle with Patricio O'Ward for the lead, having kept himself in contention for the race win after starting from third on the grid.

Newgarden made his final pit stop of the race on lap 171 for a change of tyres and a final dash of fuel to run to the line.

A three-way battle ensued with O'Ward's McLaren team-mate Alexander Rossi also putting himself in contention for the win.

As the race entered the final 20 laps, Newgarden and Rossi traded the lead of the race as they set themselves up for the run to the flag.

O'Ward fired himself into contention in the final 10 laps and opted to stay behind Newgarden in a bid to overtake at the last possible moment.

The Mexican driver seized his chance at Turn 1 as the drivers began the final lap of the race as he bid to win the famous race for the first time.

However, Newgarden dashed the 25-year-old's hopes with a re-overtake at Turn 3 before taking the chequered flag moments later, three-tenths of a second ahead of O'Ward.

View full results of the 108th Indianapolis 500 here.

Article continues below.

O'Ward's pursuit for the win ended in another second-place finish - his second in three years at the Indy 500.

Scott Dixon, who was looking in a strong position for the win before the leading duo pulled away, managed to overtake Rossi for fourth place.

Reigning IndyCar champion Alex Palou was fifth on the road, leading Scott McLaughlin who dropped to sixth after starting from pole position.

Kyle Kirkwood's aggressive strategy that saw him pit lane on delivered a run to seventh, with Santino Ferrucci taking eighth.

Dutchman Rinus VeeKay was ninth, with Conor Daly rounding out the top 10 for 
Dreyer Reinbold Racing.

Eight cautions were deployed during the heavily disrupted race, with several crashes occurring throughout the 200-lap event.

The first collision came on the opening lap with Tom Blomqvist spinning and collecting 2022 race winner Marcus Ericsson, while Pietro Fittipaldi was also caught up in the incident.

Linus Lindqvist, Colton Herta, Ryan Hunter Reay, Marco Andretti and Will Power all crashed out, while mechanical issues befell Marcus Armstrong, Katherine Legge and Felix Rosenqvist.

In this article

Join the conversation!

LATEST Red Bull addresses concerns over lack of spare parts