Welcome at RN365

You are logged in. Benefit directly from all the benefits of your account:

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits

Welcome at RN365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
To circuits

Dutch GP

Circuit Zandvoort, Zandvoort
  • FP1 02 Sep 2022 -
  • FP2 02 Sep 2022 -
  • FP3 03 Sep 2022 -
  • Quali 03 Sep 2022 -
  • Race 04 Sep 2022 -


First held 1952
Laps 72
Circuit length 4.252 kilometer
Fastest lap 1:22.849


Winner 1985 Niki Lauda
Winner 1984 Alain Prost
Winner 1983 René Arnoux
Winner 1982 Didier Pironi
Winner 1981 Alain Prost

The Dutch Grand Prix will return to the F1 calendar in 2021 after a 36-year absence. The Zandvoort circuit, which has been completely re-worked, was scheduled to host the event in 2020, before it was postponed and eventually cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

F1 Dutch Grand Prix 2021

The popularity of Max Verstappen surely meant it was only a matter of time before a race in the Red Bull driver’s native country would be reinstated.

Having last held the Dutch GP back in 1985, the Zandvoort track has been newly configured in order to meet the demands of the modern Formula 1 car.

The result is a 14-turn 4.259km layout, which will feature two DRS zones as well as a number of banked corners and elevation changes, especially at the beginning of the lap.


Located in the dunes of Holland's North sea coastline half an hour from Amsterdam, Zandvoort hosted minor races on street circuits in the 1930s.

Following the Second World War, roads were widened and linked together, and, as a result, a circuit was designed. Initially attributed to the efforts of John Hugenholtz, the decision was undertaken by the Royal Dutch Motorcycle Association on advice from Sammy Davis, who had won the 1927 24 Hours of Le Mans.

The first race took place in 1948 under the name of the Zandvoort Grand Prix, with Thailand's Prince Bira taking the chequered flag. Louis Rosier won in 1950 and 1951, while the Dutch GP finally became part of the F1 World Championship in 1952.

Alberto Ascari won that year, along with the race in 1953. The event wasn't held in 1954, 1956 and 1957 due to financial issues, with Mercedes dominating in 1955 thanks to Juan Manuel Fangio and Stirling Moss.

Jim Clark won four times in the 1960s (1963, 1964, 1965 and 1967) while driving for Lotus. The 1970 Dutch GP was won by Jochen Rindt in a Lotus as well, however the race is remembered for Piers Courage's accident. Driving the Frank Williams car, the Briton crashed after a wheel came off and hit him on the head, killing him. With Courage still in the car, it caught fire and burned to the ground.

Redeveloped Zandvoort circuit

Although the Dutch GP was initially included in the 1972 F1 calendar, drivers refused to race at Zandvoort given the facilities and circuit had fallen out-of-date.

Extensive modifications were made as a result, including the building of a new pit lane, resulting in a positive atmosphere when F1 returned in 1973.

Unfortunately things went very wrong on raceday, with disorganization and a lack of clear communication contributing to the events of that day. Roger Williamson, in what was his second F1 race, crashed heavily near Tunnel Oost, with his car catching fire while scraping along the tarmac.

The Briton was was unable to free himself from the car, which resulted in David Purley stopping alongside him to turn the burning March over. Try as he might, Purley wasn't able to do much, while the marshals, who weren't wearing flame retardant overalls, weren't able to either due to the intense heat.

Race control assumed it was Purley's car that crashed and he had escaped unharmed, while fellow drivers failed to stop as they didn't know that a second car had been involved. Williamson died, not from burns, but from asphyxiation.

Purley was awarded a George Medal for his actions, while Tyrrell driver Jackie Stewart won ahead of teammate Francois Cevert.

James Hunt claimed his first F1 win at the 1975 Dutch GP, while Mario Andretti's last win in the series came at Zandvoort in 1978.

Alain Prost kicked off a run of four straight wins for French drivers in 1981, with Didier Pironi, Rene Arnoux and Prost, again, taking the chequered flag in 1984. Niki Lauda won in 1985, the race's final running after track owner CENAV went out of business.

Dutch GP returns to F1 calendar

On 14 May 2019 it was announced that F1 would return to Zandvoort for the 2020 season.

Unfortunately that return was pushed back, as the race was postponed and later cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Dutch GP finally made its return to Zandvoort in September 2021, with Max Verstappen becoming the first Dutch driver to win his home race.

Most successful F1 drivers and teams

Jim Clark leads the way in terms of wins in the Netherlands, winning the Dutch GP on four occasions. He is followed by Jackie Stewart and Niki Lauda on three wins.

In terms of constructors, Ferrari top the list with eight victories to their name, followed by Lotus on six and McLaren on three wins.

The Dutch Grand Prix 2021

The first Dutch GP since 1985 finally took place on 5 September 2021. Verstappen started his home race from pole position, with championship rival Lewis Hamilton alongside him on the front row.

Dutch fans were sent home happy as Verstappen crossed the line nearly 21 seconds ahead of Hamilton, a result that saw him take top spot in the Drivers' Championship from the Mercedes driver. Valtteri Bottas rounded out the podium.

When is the 2021 Dutch Grand Prix on the F1 calendar?

The Dutch Grand Prix is scheduled to take place on the weekend of 3-5 September and is provisionally set to be the 13th race of the Formula 1 season.

The first two free practice sessions will take place on 3 September, with qualifying on Saturday 4 September at 15:00 CET.

What time does the Dutch Grand Prix start?

The Dutch Grand Prix starts on Sunday 5 September at 15:00 CET. The race can be followed live on RacingNews365’s blog and watched on F1 TV.

F1 Dutch GP 2021 Schedule

Session Date Time (UK)
Free Practice 1 Friday 3 September 10:00 - 11:00
Free Practice 2 Friday 3 September 14:00 - 15:00
Free Practice 3 Saturday 4 September 11:00 - 12:00
Qualifying Saturday 4 September 14:00 - 15:00
Race Sunday 5 September 14:00