Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Saudi Arabia Grand Prix 2023

Red Bull aiming to match Hamilton record in Saudi Grand Prix

Should Red Bull win in Saudi Arabia, they will match a Lewis Hamilton record.

XPB 1188792 Hi Res
To news overview © XPBimages

Since 2009 only three Formula 1 titles have not been won by either Lewis Hamilton or Red Bull.

Jenson Button led Brawn to the 2009 double in the fairytale season, just about managing to cling on and beat the charging Sebastian Vettel, while in 2016 it was Nico Rosberg who walked away with the crown.

Hamilton has claimed six of the Drivers' titles in 2014-15, and 2017-2020 and the two Constructors' in 2016 and 2021 with Red Bull taking the remaining Drivers' and Constructors' titles - helped by the efforts of Vettel and Max Verstappen.

This weekend in Saudi Arabia, should a Red Bull driver take the chequered flag first, they will match a Hamilton record that started when they won their first race back at the very wet 2009 Chinese Grand Prix.

Red Bull's Hamilton record

Since the start of the 2009 season, Hamilton has taken 94 wins in F1, with the other nine coming in his first two seasons with McLaren.

In that same time, Red Bull has picked up 93 wins through four drivers. Mercedes has 116 wins, also split across four drivers.

Ferrari have just 30 wins since the start of 2009 - currently six less than Verstappen has on his own since his first in 2016!

Most F1 wins since 2009

Driver/Team Number of wins Last win
Mercedes 116 Sao Paolo 2022
Lewis Hamilton 94 Saudi Arabia 2021
Red Bull 93 Bahrain 2023
Sebastian Vettel 53 Singapore 2019
Max Verstappen 36 Bahrain 2023
Ferrari 30 Austria 2022
Nico Rosberg 23 Japan 2016
McLaren 21 Italy 2021
Jenson Button 15 Brazil 2012
Valtteri Bottas 10 Turkey 2021
Mark Webber 9 Britain 2012
Brawn Grand Prix 8 Italy 2009
Daniel Ricciardo 8 Italy 2021
Charles Leclerc 5 Austria 2022

Also interesting:

Join RacingNews365.com journalists Michael Butterworth and Dieter Rencken as they discuss all the key talking points ahead of the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix.

Subscribe to our YouTube channel and have a chance to win these GP tickets!


F1 2023 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

Join the conversation!

POLL Can McLaren beat Red Bull to the Constructors' Championship?