Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

DRS plans confirmed for inaugural Miami F1 event

F1 drivers will have three DRS zones to play with as the sport heads to the Miami International Autodrome for the first time.

A total of three DRS zones will be in place at this weekend's Miami Grand Prix, the FIA have confirmed. The first detection point has been placed just after Turn 8 of the all-new, 5.412-kilometre Miami International Autodrome, with activation coming between Turns 9 and 11. The next detection line is at the exit of Turn 16, with activation on the long straight before Turn 17, while the final detection zone sits between Turns 17 and 18, followed by activation along the main straight.

How many other venues have featured three DRS zones?

No other circuit on the F1 calendar has featured more than three DRS zones for a full weekend, those being Sakhir (Bahrain), Jeddah (Saudi Arabia), the Red Bull Ring (Austria), the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez (Mexico) and Albert Park (Australia). Albert Park had looked set the break that record in 2022, with four DRS zones initially being set out, only for this to be scaled back to three following practice.

POLL Is the idea to revamp F1 points system a good one?