Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

Hungaroring announces new owners, renovations and MotoGP plans

In a host of updates to the Hungarian Grand Prix venue, the new owners of the Hungaroring have announced plans to redevelop the facilities, and make the circuit appropriate for MotoGP.

The venue for Formula 1's Hungarian Grand Prix, the Hungaroring, will undergo renovations, including modifications for MotoGP races, following a change of ownership. The Hungaroring, which has a Formula 1 contract until the end of 2027, have announced that the circuit ownership has been moved to the State Secretariat for Sport, which is a part of Hungary's Department for Defence. The circuit had been owned by Hungary's Department of Technology and Innovation, but a wider restructuring of the departments has prompted the change in ownership. The Hungaroring also confirmed that a host of changes will be made to the circuit's facilities, which will begin after the 2023 race in July, and will include a new pit lane complex, control tower and media centre, along with a new main entrance. The redevelopment will be completed in phases in between Hungarian Grands Prix, with a target completion date being before the 2026 race in Budapest.

Hungaroring targets MotoGP with updates

The venue also announced that they will be implemented changes to bring the circuit up to the standards required to host a MotoGP race. Plans had previously been in place to host a Hungarian MotoGP race in Debrecen , the second-largest city in the country. However, these plans have been shelved, with the Hungarian government opting to make the Hungaroring, in Budapest, suitable for MotoGP instead, which will be a more cost-effective solution. The Hungaroring held top-level motorcycle racing (prior to the creation of MotoGP) in 1990 and 1992, won by Eddie Lawson and Mick Doohan respectively. Check out the video of the proposed changes below:


RESULTS 2024 F1 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix - Qualifying