Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
F1 2022

How F1's pecking order changed during the last rules reset

Will Formula 1's big names slip back in 2022, like they did during the last great rule change?

Attachment 40553
To news overview © Scuderia Ferrari S.p.A.

Formula 1 heads into 2022 with the teams embarking on the biggest rules reset of the modern era.

The move away from the old aerodynamic philosophy to one of ground effect in 2022 is the biggest single-year change since 2009's reset.

On that occasion, Formula 1 simplified the aerodynamics of the cars in a bid to reduce their dependency. To this end, the front wings were made lower and wider, with the rear wings made higher and narrower, while elements like barge boards, turning vanes, and winglets all came under strict scrutiny.

Like 2022, there was also a change to the tyres. While 2022 sees the teams having to contend with a chance to 18-inch wheels, the change in 2009 was to go from the old grooved tyres to new slick rubber. This was with the intent of increasing mechanical grip.

KERS, the first 'hybrid' component introduced to F1, was also permitted in 2009, with the Kinetic Energy Recovery Systems allowing cars to recover energy from braking heat to re-use as deployment of extra engine power.

The changes, like nowadays, saw some of the teams switch focus earlier than others. With 2008 seeing the most recent McLaren vs Ferrari title battle, it was perhaps somewhat unsurprising that both teams slipped back at the start of the new regulation cycle. By contrast, 2009 was the year that saw Brawn GP (now Mercedes) and Red Bull step forward and become F1's new front-runners.

Despite the evolutionary rule changes over the intervening decade and a bit, and the introduction of the hybrid era (which was a change in the engine formula), it's notable that that pecking order remained largely in place until 2021 as Mercedes and Red Bull finished the era as clear leaders, with McLaren and Ferrari slotting in behind.

F1 standings: 2008

Position Team Points
1 Ferrari 172
2 McLaren 151
3 BMW Sauber 135
4 Renault 80
5 Toyota 56
6 Toro Rosso 39
7 Red Bull Racing 29
8 Williams 26
9 Honda 14
10 Force India 0
11 Super Aguri 0

F1 standings: 2009

Position Team Points Points difference
1 Brawn GP 172 +158
2 Red Bull Racing 153.5 +124.5
3 McLaren 71 -80
4 Ferrari 70 -102
5 Toyota 59.5 +3.5
6 BMW Sauber 36 -99
7 Williams 34.5 +8.5
8 Renault 26 -54
9 Force India 13 +13
10 Toro Rosso 8 -31

Also interesting:

Video: How safe is a Formula 1 car?

RacingNews365.com takes a look at the most important changes over the years regarding the safety of F1 cars.

Join the conversation!

BREAKING Audi signs Binotto in major F1 project overhaul