Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

Ericsson claims breakthrough IndyCar win as Grosjean triggers red flag

Chip Ganassi Racing's Marcus Ericsson has won his maiden IndyCar race, taking victory in Detroit after a red flag stoppage took Will Power out of contention

E3tf TAYWYA Al Fnq
To news overview © Chip Ganassi Racing

Marcus Ericsson has become a race winner once again, a decade after his last win in GP2 back in 2013. The Swedish driver held off a late challenge from Rinus Veekay and Patricio O'Ward to hold firm at the chequered flag.

Ericsson, who started 15th, made his way through the field as the race unfolded before a mid-race red flag due to a huge crash for Arrow McLaren's Felix Rosenqvist. The Swede has been taken to hospital for precautionary checks after his throttle stuck open, but IndyCar doctors have said his condition is largely OK.

With Will Power rising to the lead after the red flag stoppage, the Australian assumed control of the race with Ericsson closing in behind Power. Entering the final quarter of the race, Rinus Veekay was also able to join in the battle at the front, while Takuma Sato rose to fourth.

With Power and Ericsson slightly pulling clear of Veekay, Sato climbed to third with an aggressive pass on the Dutch driver, but it appeared to be Power vs. Ericsson with six laps to go.

That was until Romain Grosjean crashed into the wall, and brought out the red flags as a result. The cars filed back to the pits, with Power gesturing for fans to be put on his car to cool it. When the field were given the green light to go again, Power's car refused to fire up as he suffered an apparent ECU failure due to the heat.

This gifted the lead to Ericsson ahead of Sato, Veekay and O'Ward, but Sato made a poor restart and fell off the podium as Veekay and O'Ward both passed the Japanese veteran.

Weathering the pressure, Ericsson crossed the line to win his maiden IndyCar race ahead of Veekay and O'Ward.


Position Driver Team
1 Marcus Ericsson Chip Ganassi Racing
2 Rinus Veekay Ed Carpenter Racing
3 Patricio O'Ward Arrow McLaren
4 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
5 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
6 Santino Ferrucci Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
7 Alexander Rossi Andretti
8 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing
9 Ed Jones Dale Coyne Racing
10 Josef Newgarden Penske

Seen our giveaway on Instagram and Facebook? Like and claim your chance to win!


Join the conversation!

RESULTS 2024 F1 Hungarian Grand Prix - Free Practice 2