Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Formula E

De Vries becomes Formula E champion after rivals dramatically crash out

Nyck de Vries won his first Formula E title as his main championship rivals dramatically retired from the Berlin ePrix, whilst Norman Nato won his maiden race in commanding fashion.

Nyck de Vries became the first Formula E World Champion at the season finale in Berlin after his three main title rivals crashed out in the first five minutes of the race.

Going into the race, 13 drivers were still mathematically in title contention but two of those contenders were out just seconds after lights out. Mitch Evans, who was arguably the favourite for the championship after qualifying in third, failed to get off the line and his car was hit hard in the rear by Edoarda Mortara.

The crash caused a red flag and there was more drama on the restart when Jake Dennis, who was third in the standings at the start of the day, lost the rear of his car and crashed out at Turn 1.

Article continues below video

Pole-sitter Stoffel Vandoorne lost the lead to Norman Nato before dropping down the order. Nato held top spot for the rest of the race on his way to his maiden Formula E victory, with Oliver Rowland finishing his best result of the season in second.

Lucas di Grassi and Antonio Felix da Costa, two of De Vries' other championship rivals, collided at the Turn 2 hairpin with Da Costa hitting the wall which forced him to retire.

The incident caused a Safety Car, so Nato's three-second lead over the rest of the field disappeared. Rowland was very aggressive on the restart but could not find a way by Nato for the lead.

De Vries, who started 13th, cruised through the field but had a scary moment when he went three-wide with Andre Lotterer and Mercedes teammate Vandoorne. The trio narrowly avoided a big collision on the fast run down to Turn 3.

The Safety Car put Vandoorne back in contention for the win, and he quickly recovered to take third place by overtaking Alexander Sims. Lotterer also overtook Sims to finish in fourth with Pascal Wehrlein in sixth, Sam Bird in seventh and newly-crowned champion De Vries in eighth.

The other championship protagonists, including Robin Frijns, Alex Lynn and Jean-Eric Vergne, failed to come through the pack and finished behind De Vries.

It was a brilliant day for Mercedes as they won the Drivers' Championship with De Vries and the Teams' Championship on what is set to be their final weekend in Formula E.

Formula E 2020/21 Final Drivers' Championship Standings

Position Driver Team Points
1 Nyck de Vries Mercedes-Benz EQ 99
2 Edoardo Mortara ROKiT Venturi Racing 92
3 Jake Dennis BMW i Andretti Motorsport 91
4 Mitch Evans Jaguar Racing 90
5 Robin Frijns Envision Virgin Racing 89
6 Sam Bird Jaguar Racing 87
7 Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 87
8 Antonio Felix da Costa DS Techeetah 86
9 Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes-Benz EQ 82
10 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Techeetah 80
11 Pascal Wehrlein TAG Heuer Porsche 79
12 Alex Lynn Mahindra Racing 78
13 Rene Rast Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 78
14 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams 77
15 Nick Cassidy Envision Virgin Racing 76
16 Maximilian Gunther BMW i Andretti Motorsport 66
17 Andre Lotterer TAG Heuer Porsche 58
18 Norman Nato ROKiT Venturi Racing 54
19 Alexander Sims Mahindra Racing 54
20 Nico Muller Dragon / Penske Autosport 30
21 Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.dams 20
22 Sergio Sette Camara Dragon / Penske Autosport 16
23 Oliver Turvey NIO 333 13
24 Tom Blomqvist NIO 333 6

Also interesting:

Video: How safe is a Formula 1 car?

RacingNews365.com takes a look at the most important changes over the years regarding the safety of F1 cars.

Join the conversation!

RESULTS 2024 F1 Monaco Grand Prix - Qualifying