Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Formula E

Wehrlein takes second Formula E victory in Diriyah E-Prix

The Porsche driver managed to fend off a charging Jake Dennis to take his second victory in his Formula E career.

Wehrlein Formula E
To news overview © Porsche Formula E

Pascal Wehrlein took his second Formula E victory at the Diriyah City E-Prix ahead of Jake Dennis and Sam Bird.

Wehrlein worked his way up through the field throughout the race, saving a short burst of Attack Mode at the end to defend from a charging Dennis who started in 12th.

Bird put pressure on pole sitter Sebastien Buemi in the opening stages of the race, taking the lead after getting a good exit onto the start/finish straight.

The Envision driver was later under pressure from Wehrlein, who made use of his Attack Mode earlier than Buemi and put himself in prime position to take second.

Once Buemi took it, Wehrlein set his sights on Bird for the lead of the race.

Wehrlein piles on the pressure

The pair battled for position in the closing stages, with the Porsche driver making his first lunge into Turn 1. As he appeared to get alongside Bird, the German locked his rears and had to take the escape road, handing the lead back to his rival.

The move caused Wehrlein to use up some of his extra energy he had saved, however it did not affect his ability to pile on the pressure.

With nine laps to go the Porsche driver made a more calm move into Turn 1. Bird dropped further down the order when Dennis managed to snatch second off him.

After a couple of laps putting pressure on Wehrlein for the win, Dennis had to concede for an impressive comeback to second behind the Porsche driver and extend his championship lead.


Position Driver Team
1 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche
2 Jake Dennis Avalanche Andretti
3 Sam Bird Jaguar TCS Racing
4 Sebastien Buemi Envision Racing
5 Rene Rast McLaren
6 Nick Cassidy Envision Racing
7 Jean Eric Vergne DS Penske
8 Jake Hughes McLaren
9 Andre Lotterer Avalanche Andretti
10 Mitch Evans Jaguar TCS Racing
11 Stoffel Vandoorne DS Penske
12 Norman Nato Nissan
13 Lucas di Grassi Mahindra Racing
14 Dan Ticktum NIO 333 Racing
15 Sergio Sette Camara NIO 333 Racing
16 Kelvin Van Der Linde ABT Cupra
17 Sacha Fenestraz Nissan
18 Antonio Felix Da Costa Porsche
19 Oliver Rowland Mahindra Racing
DNF Edoardo Mortara Maserati MSG Racing
DNF Nico Muller ABT Cupra
DNS Maximilian Guenther Maserati MSG Racing

Also interesting:

Revealed: 2023 F1 driver salaries

How much money will F1's class of 2023 take home with them? It's easy to assume that the likes of Lewis Hamilton, Max Verstappen and Charles Leclerc are the sport's biggest earners, find out which F1 stars take home the biggest pay cheques:

Check out the video below:

Join the conversation!

LATEST Honda in Verstappen revelation ahead of Red Bull exit