Welcome at RacingNews365

You are logged in. Benefit directly from all the benefits of your account:

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits

Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Carlos Sainz

Stewards confirm outcome of Sainz investigation

Carlos Sainz has been reprimanded by the stewards for a pit lane incident with Fernando Alonso during final practice in Bahrain.

Sainz Bahrain
Article
To news overview © RN365/Michael Potts

Carlos Sainz has escaped with a reprimand following an incident in the pit lane in Saturday's final practice session for the Bahrain Grand Prix.

Ferrari driver Sainz was investigated for an unsafe release that impeded Fernando Alonso, who had been travelling down the 'fast lane' in his Alpine.

After the stewards met with Sainz, and reviewed available footage, the driver - rather than the team - admitted "fault", but the panel went no further than issuing a reprimand.

Sainz therefore enters qualifying without the threat of a penalty hanging over his shoulders.

The stewards explain their decision

Sainz was found to have breached Article 34.14 (a) of the FIA Formula 1 Sporting Regulations, which relates to pit lane activity and how cars are released from their garages.

"The driver accepts that he was at fault in this incident due to a misunderstanding of the communication signals from the mechanic, compounded by his lack of vision to the side of the car," read the stewards' explantion.

"The stewards determine this to be a breach of the above regulation and impose a reprimand."

The stewards clarified that the reprimand will not be classified as a 'driving infringement'.

As per current F1 rules, any driver who receives five reprimands in the same season will, upon the imposition of the fifth, be given a 10-place grid penalty.

However, the grid drop would only be applied if at least four of the reprimands are regarded as driving infringements.

Also interesting:

F1 Podcast: Previewing the 2022 Formula 1 season

Ahead of the season-opening Bahrain Grand Prix, F1 journalists Dieter Rencken, Mike Seymour and Thomas Maher preview the 2022 season.

F1 2022 Bahrain Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

0 comments

x