Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Max Verstappen

Verstappen set to match 'father-in-law', two knights and Senna in Qatar

Max Verstappen only needs a sixth-place finish in the Qatar Sprint to seal a third World Championship.

XPB 1240788 Hi Res
To news overview © XPBimages

The Qatar Grand Prix Sprint is Max Verstappen's first chance to wrap up his third straight World Championship.

He is 177 points clear of Sergio Perez with 180 left on the board, meaning a sixth place finish on Saturday at Lusail will be enough to ensure the trophy stays on top his drinks fridge by his sim rig for another year.

When Verstappen does win the title, he will become the 11th driver to win three or more titles, and sixth to be a triple World Champion.

On the current list of those he can match include his 'father-in-law', Sir Jackie Stewart and Ayrton Senna. Not bad company then...

Three-time F1 World Champions

Driver Title years
Sir Jack Brabham 1959, 1960, 1966
Sir Jackie Stewart 1969, 1971, 1973
Niki Lauda 1975, 1977, 1984
Nelson Piquet 1981, 1983, 1987
Ayrton Senna 1988, 1990, 1991
			© XPBimages
	© XPBimages
			© Singapore GP Pte. Ltd.
	© Singapore GP Pte. Ltd.
			© Photo4
	© Photo4
F1 legend Ayrton Senna

Those with more than three

Of course, some drivers have gone beyond the magical three-time threshold, and interestingly, they all but one have something in common with Verstappen.

The drivers listed below, with the exception of Alain Prost, have all won three (or more) titles in a row, with Michael Schumacher's five with Ferrari the all-time record.

F1 drivers with more than three World Championship titles

Driver Titles Title years
Michael Schumacher 7 1994, 1995, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004
Lewis Hamilton 7 2008, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020
Juan Manuel Fangio 5 1951, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957
Alain Prost 4 1985, 1986, 1989, 1993
Sebastian Vettel 4 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013
			© Ferrari
	© Ferrari
			© XPBimages
	© XPBimages
			© Photo4
	© Photo4
			© XPBimages
	© XPBimages
			© XPBimages
	© XPBimages

F1 2023 Qatar Grand Prix RN365 News dossier


LATEST Verstappen wants Le Mans assault with Alonso