Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Qatar Grand Prix 2023

Four drivers handed multiple time penalties during Qatar GP

There were plenty of track limit violations during the Qatar Grand Prix.

Perez Qatar
To news overview © Red Bull Content Pool

Four Formula 1 drivers ended the Qatar Grand Prix with multiple time penalties for breaching track limits at Lusail.

Track limits have been looked at throughout the weekend, with multiple lap times being deleted during the qualifying sessions, with one costing Lando Norris a second place spot on the grid.

During the race, drivers were given a black and white flag every third time they went beyond the white lines, with a five-second time penalty being issued for every fourth offence.

Sergio Perez and Pierre Gasly tallied the highest figure, with both earning 15 seconds worth of penalties by the end of the race.

Following his second offence, Perez was heard being told off by his team, who stated that the offence was hurting their race.

Perez, who started from the pit lane, classified in 10th place while Gasly ended the Grand Prix in 12th.

Lance Stroll was issued a 10-second time penalty for two offences while Williams' Alexander Albon also copped a 10-second penalty.

Fernando Alonso was investigated for his rejoining effort at Turn 3 which was deemed to be done in an unsafe manner, however he was only issued a reprimand by the stewards.

Stroll finished 11th and Albon 13th.

Result Race - Qatar

Pos. Driver Team Time Tyre
Results are being loaded...

F1 2023 Qatar Grand Prix RN365 News dossier


LATEST FIA open Toto and Susie Wolff investigation over alleged conflict of interest