Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Max Verstappen

Verstappen equals F1 icon after record-breaking 16th win of season

The triple World Champion has broken his own record of most Grand Prix wins in a single season in Mexico City - and equalled an F1 great in the process.

Verstappen Mexico
To news overview © Red Bull Content Pool

Max Verstappen's 16th win of the season in the Mexico City Grand Prix was also the 51st of his career - equalling the tally of the great Alain Prost.

Having set the record of 15 for the most wins in a season in 2022, Verstappen has cruised past that this term, including a stretch of 10 straight wins between Miami and Italy.

Indeed, if he wins just one of the remaining three races, Verstappen will eclipse the record of highest percentage of wins in a season - currently 75% held by Alberto Ascari with six wins from eight 1952 races.

Verstappen will climb to 77.27% if he takes one more win - and potentially 86.36% if he wins the Sao Paulo, Las Vegas and Abu Dhabi races.

If he also does that, he will move past Sebastian Vettel's career tally of 53 wins and into third on the all-time list, behind only Lewis Hamilton and Michael Schumacher.

But by winning in Mexico, for now, Verstappen is level with four-time champion Prost on 51 wins - with these coming in 17 fewer races for the Dutchman - 182 starts plays Prost's 199.

Not that Verstappen, who famously is not a fan of statistics will care that much...

Most Formula 1 Grand Prix wins

Driver Number of wins First win Last win
Lewis Hamilton 103 Canada 2007 Saudi Arabia 2021*
Michael Schumacher 91 Belgium 1992 China 2006
Sebastian Vettel 53 Italy 2008 Singapore 2019
Alain Prost 51 France 1981 Germany 1993
Max Verstappen 51 Spain 2016 Mexico City 2023*
Ayrton Senna 41 Portugal 1985 Australia 1993
Fernando Alonso 32 Hungary 2003 Spain 2013*
Nigel Mansell 31 Europe 1985 Australia 1994

F1 2023 Mexican Grand Prix RN365 News dossier


LATEST Has the next Lewis Hamilton already caught the eyes of F1?