Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
F1 2023

F1 drivers race numbers for 2023 season

The final race number for the 2023 season has been confirmed, with Nyck de Vries' choice being declared on the official FIA entry list.

US GP 2022 Start
To news overview © XPBimages

Nyck De Vries has become the final Formula 1 driver to select his race number for the 2023 season, with the FIA releasing the official entry list.

2020/21 Formula E champion De Vries will make his full-time F1 debut with the AlphaTauri squad, replacing Pierre Gasly who departed for Alpine.

During his stand-in appearance at Monza for Williams in 2022, De Vries ran number 45, although this is a number allocated to Williams and not De Vries himself.

Instead, the Dutchman has opted for number 21, last used by Esteban Gutierrez in the 2016 season - and has been available for someone else to use since 2019.

It means that the AlphaTauri drivers will run consecutive numbers for the second time, with Yuki Tsunoda using number 22. In 2014, Jean-Eric Vergne and Danill Kvyat ran 25 and 26, respectively.

Elsewhere, fellow rookies Oscar Piastri and Logan Sargeant have also made their selections, while World Champion Max Verstappen will continue to carry the number 1.

Piastri becomes the first driver to ever use the number 81 at McLaren, while the Sargeant has opted for number 2, which was previously used by Stoffel Vandoorne in 2017 and 2018.

2023 F1 Driver Numbers

Driver Team Number
Max Verstappen Red Bull 1
Sergio Perez Red Bull 11
Charles Leclerc Ferrari 16
Carlos Sainz Ferrari 55
Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 44
George Russell Mercedes 63
Esteban Ocon Alpine 31
Pierre Gasly Alpine 10
Lando Norris McLaren 4
Oscar Piastri McLaren 81
Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo 77
Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo 24
Lance Stroll Aston Martin 18
Fernando Alonso Aston Martin 14
Kevin Magnussen Haas 20
Nico Hulkenberg Haas 27
Nyck De Vries AlphaTauri 21
Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 22
Alex Albon Williams 23
Logan Sargeant Williams 2

Also interesting:

Video: How F1's prize money is distributed and who actually gets what

How has F1’s distribution of income changed since the new Concorde Agreement came into force in 2021?

RacingNews365 takes you on a journey through F1’s financials, and explains how the sport’s revenues trickle down to its ten teams.


ANALYSIS How struggling Ferrari can adopt a Red Bull design to the SF-23