Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Formula 1

Mercedes and Red Bull to share the stage during Portuguese GP press conferences

The battle between Red Bull and Mercedes will likely continue on track this weekend in Portugal. However the two teams will interact before Sunday's race, starting with Thursday's driver press conferences.

Wolff Horner
To news overview © Getty Images/Red Bull Contentpool

The change in driver press conferences will continue at this weekend's Portuguese Grand Prix with Valtteri Bottas and Sergio Perez paired together.

Having started at the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix, drivers will no longer sit beside their teammates. This is being done by F1 in order to prevent similar answers from the two drivers when asked a question.

Not all 20 drivers have been separated from their teammates however, with the McLaren duo of Daniel Ricciardo and Lando Norris sticking together. The remaining 18 drivers have been mixed up though, with championship leader Lewis Hamilton paired with Carlos Sainz, while Max Verstappen will sit alongside Nikita Mazepin.

Red Bull and Mercedes will cross paths with Bottas and Perez speaking at the press conference together. The two teams will once again be drawn together during Friday's press conference involving team bosses, as Christian Horner and Toto Wolf will be joined by Zak Brown.

The second group will see Marcin Budkowski of Alpine, Laurenti Mekies of Ferrari and Toyoharu Tanabe of Honda speak.

Check out the full schedule for drivers below.

Driver press conferences for Portuguese GP

Group Driver 1 Driver 2
1. Gasly (AlphaTauri) Alonso (Alpine)
2. Ocon (Alpine) Stroll (Aston Martin)
3. Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo) Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)
4. Vettel (Aston Martin) Russell (Williams)
5. Leclerc (Ferrari) Schumacher (Haas)
6. Sainz (Ferrari) Hamilton (Mercedes)
7. Mazepin (Haas) Verstappen (Red Bull)
8. Bottas (Mercedes) Perez (Red Bull)
9. Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo) Latifi (Williams)
10. Norris (McLaren) Ricciardo (McLaren)

F1 2021 Portuguese Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

Join the conversation!

REPORT Red Bull file FIA complaint over McLaren trick