Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

Which F1 rookies will drive in Mexican Grand Prix practice?

With teams required to run rookies on two occasions during practice sessions each year, Mexico seems a popular place to make the switch. Here is a rundown of the five drivers set to take over for FP1 at the Mexican Grand Prix.

Fred Vesti
To news overview © XPBimages

A number of F1 teams are fulfilling part of their obligations to run rookie drivers in FP1 at the Mexico City Grand Prix this weekend.

With a lack of testing time in modern F1 compared to years gone by, the sport has mandated each team to run a driver who has taken part in two or fewer races on two occasions across the season.

No fewer than five are set to run this weekend, with the remainder of the running set to be completed at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, ahead of the post-season test at Yas Marina.

Who driving in FP1 in Mexico?

F2 title challenger Frederik Vesti leads the rookie contingent as he steps in for George Russell at Mercedes.

Alpine will call upon reserve driver Jack Doohan this weekend, who will take over Pierre Gasly's A523. The Australian completed a similar programme last year after Oscar Piastri's contract saga.

Alfa Romeo regular Théo Pourchaire returns for his latest outing in place of Valtteri Bottas. The Frenchman is at the top of the F2 standings.

Ferrari junior and F2 race winner Ollie Bearman makes his F1 bow with Haas and will get his chance to impress in place of Kevin Magnussen this weekend before returning in Abu Dhabi.

Finally, AlphaTauri has technically completed its requirement through Nyck de Vries and Liam Lawson this season but that hasn't stopped Isack Hadjar from getting an opportunity to impress. He will also driver for Red Bull in Abu Dhabi.


Team Driver 1 Driver 2
Red Bull Max Verstappen Sergio Perez
Mercedes Lewis Hamilton Frederik Vesti [R]
Ferrari Charles Leclerc Carlos Sainz
McLaren Lando Norris Oscar Piastri
Aston Martin Fernando Alonso Lance Stroll
Alpine Esteban Ocon Jack Doohan [R]
Alfa Romeo Zhou Guanyu Théo Pourchaire [R]
Haas Nico Hulkenberg Ollie Bearman [R]
Williams Alex Albon Logan Sargeant
AlphaTauri Daniel Ricciardo Isack Hadjar [R]

F1 2023 Mexican Grand Prix RN365 News dossier


F1 2023 SEASON REVIEW Haas flop as stark contrasts develop