Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
F1 2022

Which F1 driver has scored the most penalty points in 2022?

With just two F1 races left in 2022, which drivers are the closest to penalties as the season nears its end?

To news overview © XPBimages

There are just two races left in the 2022 season, and for some drivers they could end up missing Abu Dhabi if they pick up more penalty points on their superlicence.

Drivers can accrue penalty points for indiscretions over a given race weekend and are kept on their superlicence for a 12-month period.

If a driver reaches 12 penalty points in the 12-month period, they will be given an automatic one-race ban.

While most driver's penalty points have expired from infractions, they picked up during the 2021 season, others have accrued more in the last few races.

Gasly edges close to one-race ban after Mexico

Pierre Gasly is the closest to getting a one-race ban having now picked up 10 penalty points on his superlicence, which he labelled 'stupid' after the Mexican Grand Prix.

The Frenchman is not set to lose any existing points until May next year, meaning he will need to complete the final two races in 2022 and the first seven races in 2023 without incurring more points.

Alex Albon is also close to a race ban having picked up seven points, however one of these will expire in March 2023.

Daniel Ricciardo is halfway to a race ban, but it is less worrying for the Australian as he will not compete next year. This means if he rejoins the grid in 2024, he will have a clean slate.

There are just two drivers on the grid with no penalty points; Carlos Sainz and Lewis Hamilton.


Driver Number of penalty points Date of next points expiry
Pierre Gasly 10 22 May 2023
Yuki Tsunoda 8 14 November 2022
Alexander Albon 7 27 March 2023
Daniel Ricciardo 6 26 March 2023
Nicholas Latifi 5 12 June 2023
Lance Stroll 5 9 April 2023
Max Verstappen 5 21 November 2022
Esteban Ocon 5 20 March 2023
Fernando Alonso 4 8 May 2023
George Russell 4 10 July 2023
Guanyu Zhou 4 27 March 2023
Kevin Magnussen 3 9 May 2023
Sergio Perez 2 2 October 2023
Sebastian Vettel 2 10 July 2023
Mick Schumacher 1 23 October 2023
Charles Leclerc 1 9 October 2023
Lando Norris 1 10 July 2023
Valtteri Bottas 1 21 November 2022
Lewis Hamilton 0 -
Carlos Sainz 0 -

Also interesting:

Video: F1 pit-stops under two seconds are allowed (and THIS is why)

At the Mexico City Grand Prix, McLaren became the first team to complete a sub-two second pit-stop since the introduction of the new F1 pit-stop regulations, changing all four tyres on Daniel Ricciardo's car in 1.98 seconds.

So how did the team do this, and what changes have been made to F1's pit-stop procedure in the last couple of years?

F1 2022 Brazilian Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

Join the conversation!

RESULTS 2024 F1 Monaco Grand Prix - Free Practice 1