Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Azerbaijan Grand Prix 2023

What time does qualifying start for the Azerbaijan Grand Prix?

The Azerbaijan Grand Prix is the first Sprint event of the 2023 F1 season, meaning qualifying takes place on Friday, rather than Saturday.

Hamilton castle section
Article
To news overview © XPBimages

With the Azerbaijan Grand Prix being the first Sprint event of the 2023 Formula 1 season, there's a change in the weekend format from this year's previous races.

Instead of qualifying taking place on a Saturday, the one-hour session setting the grid order for Sunday's race will instead take place on Friday.

A separate qualifying session, dubbed the Sprint Shootout, will replace FP2 on Saturday to set the grid order for the Sprint race later that day, meaning Saturday will be dedicated solely to Sprint qualifying and race.

See our handy table below to find out exactly when Friday's qualifying session starts wherever you are the in the world.

2023 F1 Azerbaijan GP Qualifying start times

Time zone Race start time
Pacific Daylight Time 02:00
Central Daylight Time 04:00
Eastern Daylight Time 05:00
Brasilia Time 06:00
British Summer Time 10:00
Central European Summer Time 11:00
Gulf Standard Time 13:00
India Standard Time 14:30
Western Indonesian Time 16:00
China Standard Time 17:00
Korea Standard Time 18:00
Australian Eastern Standard Time 19:00
New Zealand Time 21:00

Also interesting:

Balve Bains is joined by RacingNews365.com Editorial Director Dieter Rencken and Asia Correspondent Michael Butterworth to dissect the key talking points from the last week in F1.

F1 2023 Azerbaijan Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

Join the conversation!

x
RESULTS 2024 F1 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix