Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Formula 1

Verstappen set to pay the FIA unprecedented amount for 2024 super licence

Max Verstappen will have to pay a heavy sum to race in Formula 1 in 2024, having broken the record for most expensive super licence ever.

Verstappen win Abu Dhabi 2023
To news overview © Red Bull Content Pool

It has been a record-breaking year for Max Verstappen, but there is perhaps one record he wishes he did not break.

Prior to every Formula 1 season, all teams and drivers must pay an entry fee to the FIA.

This fee is calculated using the championship standings: teams and drivers pay a standard amount, plus an amount per World Championship point scored.

For the upcoming 2024 season, drivers will have to pay a base fee of €10,400 (£9,017 GBP at current exchange rates) plus €2,100 (£1,820 GBP) per point scored in the past season for their super licence.

Among drivers it is Verstappen who pays the most, breaking his record from the previous season having amassed 575 points.

This means the Dutchman has the most expensive super licence ever, with the triple World Champion forced to cough up a whopping €1.2 million, or a shade over £1 million GBP.

NOTE: The exchange rates are accurate as of 16:00 GMT on Monday 27th November.

Check out how much the other drivers will pay below.

F1 Super licence fees 2024

Driver Points scored in 2023 Fee in Euros Fee in Pounds
Max Verstappen 575 €1,217,900 £1,056,021
Sergio Perez 285 €608,900 £527,967
Lewis Hamilton 234 €501,800 £435,102
Fernando Alonso 206 €443,000 £384,118
Charles Leclerc 206 €443,000 £384,118
Lando Norris 205 €440,900 £382,297
Carlos Sainz 200 €430,400 £373,192
George Russell 175 €377,900 £327,670
Oscar Piastri 97 €214,100 £185,642
Lance Stroll 74 €165,800 £143,762
Pierre Gasly 62 €140,600 £121,911
Esteban Ocon 58 €132,200 £114,628
Alex Albon 27 €67,100 £58,185
Yuki Tsunoda 17 €46,100 £39,975
Valtteri Bottas 10 €31,400 £27,228
Nico Hulkenberg 9 €29,300 £25,407
Daniel Ricciardo 6 €23,000 £19,944
Zhou Guanyu 6 €23,000 £19,944
Kevin Magnussen 3 €16,700 £14,481
Logan Sargeant 1 €12,500 £10,839
TOTAL €4,924,700 £4,270,453

Don't miss out on any of the F1 action thanks to this handy 2024 F1 calendar that can be easily loaded into your smartphone or PC.

Download our F1 calendar

Join the conversation!

LATEST Russell provides revelation over Leclerc overtake