Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
French Grand Prix 2022

Revised starting grid for the F1 2022 French GP after penalties

Here is the provisional starting grid for the 2022 F1 French Grand Prix, which will be held at the Circuit Paul Ricard.

Leclerc Perez france
To news overview © XPB

Charles Leclerc will start the French Grand Prix from pole position after outpacing Max Verstappen in Saturday's qualifying.

The Monegasque benefitted from a tow provided by Ferrari teammate Carlos Sainz, and set the fastest time of 1:30.872, putting him 0.304 seconds ahead of Verstappen in P2.

Verstappen's fellow Red Bull driver Sergio Perez lines up in third, with Lewis Hamilton in fourth and Lando Norris fifth.

Despite reaching Q3, Sainz will start the race from the back of the field due to engine penalties. He will be joined by Kevin Magnussen, who has also been penalised for exceeding his permitted usage of several power unit components.

The starting grid below is provisional until confirmed by F1's governing body, the FIA.

Starting Grid: 2022 F1 French Grand Prix

Pos Driver Team
1. Leclerc Ferrari
2. Verstappen Red Bull
3. Perez Red Bull
4. Hamilton Mercedes
5. Norris McLaren
6. Russell Mercedes
7. Alonso Alpine
8. Tsunoda AlphaTauri
9. Ricciardo McLaren
10. Ocon Alpine
11. Bottas Alfa Romeo
12. Vettel Aston Martin
13. Albon Williams
14. Gasly AlphaTauri
15. Stroll Aston Martin
16. Zhou Alfa Romeo
17. Schumacher Haas
18. Latifi Williams
19. Sainz * Ferrari
20. Magnussen * Haas

Also interesting:

Video: How much does it cost to become an F1 driver?

RacingNews365.com breaks down how much it costs drivers to make their way up the ranks in the world of motorsport and become an F1 driver.

F1 2022 French Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

Join the conversation!

RESULTS 2024 F1 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix - Qualifying