Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Lando Norris

The unwanted history Norris is keen to shift in 2024

Lando Norris has a share of an unwanted F1 record to his name - which he is very keen to lose in 2024.

Norris Brazil
To news overview © XPBimages

Lando Norris has now equalled Nick Heidfeld's all-time record for most Formula 1 podiums, without capturing a Grand Prix victory.

The McLaren driver's second place in the Sao Paulo Grand Prix was his 13th podium since his first at the 2020 Austrian Grand Prix, but he is yet to taste victory heading into his sixth season in 2024.

Of Norris's 13 podiums, seven have been runner-up, six of those coming in 2023 alone, finishing behind Max Verstappen five times and Carlos Sainz once, and is one short of Heidfeld's eight-second places from his haul of 13.

To put Norris's performance into context, the next active driver on the list of podiums without a win is Lance Stroll on three.

Elsewhere, Chris Amon who is fourth on the list actually did win a Formula 1 race.

However, these two victories came in the days of non-championship F1 races, and so the fast, talented and dreadfully unlucky New Zealander officially never won a World Championship Grand Prix, while some familiar faces appear in the table below!

Will Lando Norris finally win his first Grand Prix in 2024? Let us know by voting in the poll and in the comments where you think he might do it!

Most F1 podiums without a Grand Prix win

Driver Starts Number of podiums Best result
Nick Heidfeld 183 13 2nd - eight times
Lando Norris 104 13 2nd - seven times
Stefan Johansson 79 12 2nd - four times
Chris Amon 97 11 2nd - three times
Romain Grosjean 179 10 2nd - two times
Jean Behra 52 9 2nd - two times
Eddie Cheever 132 9 2nd - two times
Martin Brundle 158 9 2nd - two times
Luigi Villoresi 31 8 2nd - two times
Andrea de Cesaris 208 5 2nd - two times
Lance Stroll (next most active driver after Norris) 143 3 3rd - three times

Join the conversation!

REPORT Red Bull file FIA complaint over McLaren trick