Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Australian Grand Prix 2022

Revised starting grid for the 2022 F1 Australian Grand Prix

Here is the full starting grid for the 2022 F1 Australian Grand Prix, which will be held at the Albert Park Circuit on Sunday.

Leclerc Verstappen Australia
To news overview © XPB

Charles Leclerc will line up in pole position for the second time this season at the Australian Grand Prix, despite having been summoned to see the stewards after qualifying.

The Monegasque was investigated for allegedly driving unnecessarily slowly on an inlap, but it was later confirmed that no further action would be taken, meaning that he will remain on the front row for Sunday's race.

Max Verstappen joins him at the head of the pack in second. The Red Bull driver's teammate, Sergio Perez, also faced a potential penalty after allegedly failing to respect single yellow flags in qualifying.

However, like Leclerc, the stewards did not penalise Perez, having decided that the Mexican "acted appropriately to the situation". He will take P3 on the grid.

Other drivers have incurred penalties, though. Lance Stroll received a three-place grid drop after being deemed at fault for a qualifying collision with Nicholas Latifi.

Alex Albon, meanwhile, was disqualified from the results as his Williams car could not produce the required one litre fuel sample for the FIA's scrutineering checks.

The starting grid below is provisional until confirmed by F1's governing body, the FIA.

Starting Grid: 2022 F1 Australian Grand Prix

Position Driver Team
1. Charles Leclerc Ferrari
2. Max Verstappen Red Bull
3. Sergio Perez Red Bull
4. Lando Norris McLaren
5. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
6. George Russell Mercedes
7. Daniel Ricciardo McLaren
8. Esteban Ocon Alpine
9. Carlos Sainz Ferrari
10. Fernando Alonso Alpine
11. Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri
12. Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo
13. Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri
14. Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo
15. Mick Schumacher Haas
16. Kevin Magnussen Haas
17. Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin
18. Nicholas Latifi Williams
19. Lance Stroll* Aston Martin
20. Alexander Albon* Williams

Also interesting:

Video: The 10 most bizarre F1 cars of all time

RacingNews365.com looks back at some of the strangest and most unique Formula 1 car designs from over the decades.

F1 2022 Australian Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

Join the conversation!

BREAKING Haas announce Magnussen to leave F1 team