Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Red Bull Racing

Red Bull find several tenths of a second in key area

Max Verstappen's race might have ended in another retirement at the Australian Grand Prix, but there was a key positive for Red Bull to take away from the weekend.

Perez Australia
To news overview © Getty Images/Red Bull Contentpool

Red Bull were beaten on-track by Ferrari at the Australian Grand Prix, but again managed to outpace their rivals when it came to pit-stops.

The Milton Keynes-based squad endured a weekend of mixed fortunes in Melbourne, with Max Verstappen's race ending in retirement on Lap 39 of 58 due to a mechanical issue.

Meanwhile, Sergio Perez became the team's sole points-scorer by clinching P2, but finished some 20 seconds back from winner Charles Leclerc.

Despite this, Red Bull were able to take the top spot in terms of achieving the fastest pit-stop of the weekend.

Perez's visit to the pits was timed at 2.27 seconds, which was not only the quickest stop in Melbourne but also the most rapid of the season so far.

Further success for McLaren

McLaren proved to be Red Bull's closest challengers in this area. The second and third fastest stops of the race were claimed by Lando Norris and Daniel Ricciardo. Incredibly, both drivers achieved a time of 2.42 seconds.

This continues the trend of the papaya outfit's success in the pit lane, having previously taken the quickest time of all last time out in Saudi Arabia.

Another team to consistently record fast pit-stops is Williams. In Melbourne, Nicholas Latifi's stop of 2.53 seconds was the fourth best of all.

Ferrari took fifth position, with Charles Leclerc's visit to the pits coming in at 2.71 seconds, over four tenths of a second back from Red Bull.

Fastest pit-stop times in Australia

Pos. Team Driver Time
1. Red Bull Perez 2.27
2. McLaren Norris 2.42
3. McLaren Ricciardo 2.42
4. Williams Latifi 2.53
5. Ferrari Leclerc 2.71
6. Mercedes Hamilton 2.79
7. Red Bull Verstappen 2.90
8. Aston Martin Stroll 3.02
9. AlphaTauri Tsunoda 3.08
10. Alfa Romeo Zhou 3.15

Also interesting:

F1 Podcast: Can fast but fragile Red Bull respond to Leclerc's charge?

RacingNews365.com F1 journalists Dieter Rencken, Mike Seymour and Thomas Maher look back over the Australian Grand Prix, where Ferrari's Charles Leclerc triumphed and Red Bull's Max Verstappen retired.

F1 2022 Australian Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

Join the conversation!

REPORT Alpine block Ocon transfer to rival team