Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

Mercedes, McLaren and Ferrari change power unit for Azerbaijan GP

All Mercedes and Ferrari powered cars have taken now power unit components for this weekend's Azerbaijan Grand Prix. No penalties will be incurred

Hamilton Baku
To news overview © Mercedes

Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas are among the eight Mercedes drivers who have opted to use their second power unit of the season.

The Mercedes pair along with McLaren drivers Daniel Ricciardo and Lando Norris, Aston Martin's Sebastian Vettel and Williams' George Russell and Nicholas Latifi have taken on a new internal combustion engine, turbocharger, MGU-K and MGU-H for Azerbaijan.

Three internal combustion engines, turbochargers, MGU-H and MGU-K can be used per driver. If four or more are used, grid penalties are awarded.

Ferrari have also decided to use Azerbaijan as an opportunity to introduce a fresh power unit so Ferrari, Haas and Alfa Romeo will run in Baku with a new engine.

Championship leader Max Verstappen is set to continue to run the power unit he has been using since the start of the season in Bahrain, although it's expected that he will use his second engine later this month.

F1 Power Unit Allowance 2021

Power Unit part Allowance
Internal combustion engine 3
Turbocharger 3
Energy store 2
Control electronics 2

Don't miss out on any of the F1 action thanks to this handy 2024 F1 calendar that can be easily loaded into your smartphone or PC.

Download our F1 calendar


Pos. Driver Points
Pos. Team Points
Full standings
LATEST Horner investigation outcome expected this week