Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Lewis Hamilton

Mercedes announce Hamilton replacement for Abu Dhabi

The team has announced who will fulfil their FP1 rookie driver obligations at the final round of the season.

Hamilton Las Vegas
To news overview © RN365/Michael Potts

Mercedes has announced that Frederik Vesti will take part in FP1 for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix in place of Lewis Hamilton.

It comes after the 21 year-old participated in FP1 at the Mexico City Grand Prix in place of George Russell, with him now fulfilling the second of the two FP1 rookie sessions teams must fulfil during a season.

Vesti will also stay on with Mercedes to participate in the end-of-season test in Abu Dhabi the following week of the Grand Prix.

Vesti to dovetail Mercedes drive with F2 commitments

"Driving in FP1 in Abu Dhabi is another step in my career. Getting my first experience of an official session on an F1 weekend in Mexico was a big moment," said Vesti.

"I learnt so much, and it was great being able to support the team and work with Lewis and George. I'm looking forward to building on that experience at Yas Marina.

"It's a track I know well and that will no doubt make it easier to get up to speed in the one hour of practice. I'm extremely excited to get back behind-the-wheel of the W14 for FP1 and then the post-season test. Once again, I want to say a big thank you to the team for giving me this opportunity."

Alongside his FP1 commitments Vesti will also be participating in the season finale of the Formula 2 championship, where he is currently second in the championship 25 points off leader and Sauber Academy driver Theo Pourchaire.

Abu Dhabi FP1 rookies

Driver Team
Jake Dennis Red Bull
Isack Hadjar Red Bull
Fred Vesti Mercedes
Robert Shwartzman Ferrari
Jack Doohan Alpine
Pato O’Ward McLaren
Felipe Drugovich Aston Martin
Theo Pourchaire Alfa Romeo
Oliver Bearman Haas
Zak O’Sullivan Williams

F1 2023 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

Join the conversation!

RESULTS 2024 F1 Spanish Grand Prix - Qualifying