Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Bahrain Grand Prix 2023

What time does the 2023 F1 Bahrain GP start?

After a long off-season and pre-season testing last week, the 2023 season officially kicks off with the Bahrain Grand Prix. Here is everything you need to know about what time the race starts on Sunday.

XPB 1133043 Hi Res
To news overview © XPBimages

The 2023 Formula 1 season officially kicks off at the Bahrain International Circuit this weekend in Sakhir.

After pre-season testing gave a glimpse into what the pecking order will be, there is still some unknowns heading into the first race.

Will Aston Martin surprise us all and be on par with Mercedes and Ferrari? Are the top teams hiding some pace from Red Bull? Has Sergio Perez finally found a way to challenge Max Verstappen and create another vintage inter-team battle?

The answers to these questions are surely going to be fascinating once the cars get underway for their first competitive sessions on track.

When is the 2023 Bahrain Grand Prix

The 2023 Bahrain Grand Prix will be held across the weekend of 3-5 March.

It will be the traditional race weekend format, with both hour-long practice sessions on Friday, a third on Saturday morning followed by qualifying, then the Grand Prix on Sunday.

How many laps is the Bahrain GP?

The race will be 57 laps off the 5.412km Bahrain International Circuit in Sakhir, with a maximum race time of two hours if there are any stoppages or delays.

What time does the Bahrain GP start?

Sunday's Bahrain Grand Prix will start at 18:00 local time (15:00 GMT) during twilight hours, as the sun sets and the circuit flood lights switch on for the night race.

Below are the start times for the race for various time zones across the world.

2023 F1 Bahrain GP Start times

Time zone Race start time
Pacific Daylight Time 08:00
Central Daylight Time 10:00
Eastern Daylight Time 11:00
Brasilia Time 12:00
Greenwich Mean Time 15:00
Central European Time 16:00
Gulf Standard Time 19:00
India Standard Time 20:30
Western Indonesian Time 22:00
China Standard Time 23:00
Korea Standard Time 00:00 (Monday)
Australian Eastern Standard Time 01:00 (Monday)
New Zealand Time 04:00 (Monday)

Also interesting:

Ahead of the season-opening Bahrain Grand Prix, RacingNews365.com journalists Dieter Rencken and Michael Butterworth analyse where each of the F1 teams stands after pre-season testing.

F1 2023 Bahrain Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

Join the conversation!

BREAKING Audi signs Binotto in major F1 project overhaul