Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Formula E

Wehrlein wins to complete Diriyah E-Prix clean sweep

Pascal Wehrlein claimed a second consecutive victory for Porsche ahead of Jake Dennis in Diriyah to take the lead of the Formula E Drivers' Championship.

Wehrlein One two victory for porsche 99x electric gen3 at the formula e season opener6
To news overview © Porsche Formula E

Pascal Wehrlein fended off a late threat from Jake Dennis to secure back-to-back victories for Porsche at the Diriyah E-Prix.

The German driver once again demonstrated a fine display of race pace to carve his way to the front of the field and take his second win of the season.

With the Porsche works driver warding off a late challenge from the Porsche-powered Andretti driver, the two teams look set to battle throughout the season.

Starting from P5, very early energy saving allowed Wehrlein to progress through the field in the first half of the race, passing Sebastien Buemi, Jake Hughes and Mitch Evans.

Dennis demonstrated similar management in the second half of the race to fight his way to second place, but was unable to take advantage of a late Safety Car and challenge for the win.

McLaren's Rene Rast, who jumped Evans and Hughes in the first Attack Mode phases, profited from a late error from Jaguar's Sam Bird to hold on to third place and secure the team's first Formula E podium.

The second McLaren of Jake Hughes, who had started from Pole and lost the lead to Evans at the start, was unable to maintain the race pace of his teammate and dropped to fifth.

However, the Briton ran out of energy at the final corner of the race, and was pushed across the line by seventh-placed Evans, with Buemi crossing the timing beam in between the two drivers to take sixth.

Sacha Fenestraz completed a competent drive to take eighth place for the Nissan team, who scored their first points of the season in Diriyah.

Maserati went some way to erasing their disastrous first race by securing their first points of the season, thanks to Edoardo Mortara who took P9.

NIO's Dan Ticktum took his first point of the season for P10, ahead of below-par days for the Porsche-powered drivers of Antonio elix da Costa and Andre Lotterer.

Formula E champions Lucas di Grassi (Mahindra) and Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Penske) finished down in 15th and 16th, whilst reigning World Champion Stoffel Vandoorne dropped to P20 after late issues.

Mahindra's Oliver Rowland and Abt Cupra's Nico Muller were the only retirees, with the latter crashing into the barrier at Turn 18 and bringing out the only Safety Car of the race.

Race Results - 2023 Diriyah E-Prix (Race Two)

Position Driver Team
1 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche
2 Jake Dennis Avalanche Andretti
3 Rene Rast McLaren
4 Sam Bird Jaguar TCS Racing
5 Jake Hughes McLaren
6 Sebastien Buemi Envision Racing
7 Mitch Evans Jaguar TCS Racing
8 Sacha Fenestraz Nissan
9 Edoardo Mortara Maserati MSG Racing
10 Dan Ticktum NIO 333 Racing
11 Antonio Felix da Costa Porsche
12 Andre Lotterer Avalanche Andretti
13 Nick Cassidy Envision Racing
14 Norman Nato Nissan
15 Lucas di Grassi Mahindra Racing
16 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Penske
17 Sergio Sette Camara NIO 333 Racing
18 Kelvin Van der Linde ABT Cupra
19 Maximilian Guenther Maserati MSG Racing
20 Stoffel Vandoorne DS Penske
DNF Oliver Rowland Mahindra Racing
DNF Nico Muller ABT Cupra

Join the conversation!

REPORT Red Bull file FIA complaint over McLaren trick