Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Emilia Romagna Grand Prix 2022

Starting grid for the 2022 F1 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix Sprint

Here is the full starting grid for the 2022 F1 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix Sprint race, which will be held at Imola on Saturday afternoon.

Verstappen Leclerc Norris Imola
To news overview © RN365/Michael Potts

Max Verstappen will lead the field away for the first F1 Sprint race of the 2022 season, having stormed to pole position at Imola.

Red Bull driver Verstappen got the better of Ferrari rival Charles Leclerc in a wet qualifying session that was interrupted by several red flags.

McLaren's Lando Norris and Haas' Kevin Magnussen took advantage of rivals' issues to lock out the second row, with Alpine's Fernando Alonso completing the top five.

Sergio Perez will start back in seventh in the other Red Bull after a compromised session, with Carlos Sainz only 10th for Ferrari after crashing out.

It was even worse for Mercedes, with George Russell (11th) and Lewis Hamilton (13th) both being eliminated in Q2 amid ongoing car struggles.

Under a revised system, eight points are now available to the winner of the Sprint, with the second-place finisher scoring seven points and so on down to eighth position.

The starting grid below is provisional until confirmed by F1's governing body, the FIA.

Starting Grid: 2022 F1 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix Sprint

Position Driver Team
1. Max Verstappen Red Bull
2. Charles Leclerc Ferrari
3. Lando Norris McLaren
4. Kevin Magnussen Haas
5. Fernando Alonso Alpine
6. Daniel Ricciardo McLaren
7. Sergio Perez Red Bull
8. Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo
9. Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin
10. Carlos Sainz Ferrari
11. George Russell Mercedes
12. Mick Schumacher Haas
13. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
14. Guanyu Zhou Alfa Romeo
15. Lance Stroll Aston Martin
16. Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri
17. Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri
18. Nicholas Latifi Williams
19. Esteban Ocon Alpine
20. Alexander Albon Williams

Don't miss out on any of the F1 action thanks to this handy 2024 F1 calendar that can be easily loaded into your smartphone or PC.

Download our F1 calendar

F1 2022 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

Join the conversation!

LIVE 2024 F1 Bahrain Grand Prix