Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Formula 1

Every current F1 driver's last championship win

You'd expect that any driver who reaches the pinnacle of motorsport would be able to list off numerous junior and karting series triumphs at the drop of a hat. But interestingly, this isn't always the case for F1 drivers. Some are fast-tracked to the top, while others use their financial muscle to skip the queue altogether.

F1 grid 2020 groepsfoto coureursfoto coureurs
To news overview © RacingNews365

Formula 1 drivers, by and large, are the best of the best. After all, you don't get a seat on the world's most exclusive grid until you've first won a ton of silverware, right?

In reality, the road to F1 is far more complex than that. Generally, the best do rise to the top, but as we will demonstrate, that isn't always the case. There are plenty of drivers among the class of 2021 that haven't tasted a championship win for many years. As you will later see, one driver hasn't won a title of any description.

The table below demonstrates the true reality of being a Formula 1 driver. Unless you are Lewis Hamilton, or you have just entered the sport as a champion of a junior series, your wait for ultimate glory could be very long indeed. For instance, even the great Max Verstappen hasn't won a series since his karting days.

The table below shows each F1 driver's last championship win, and which series it was achieved in.

Driver Series Title Year
Hamilton Formula 1 2020
Schumacher Formula 2 2020
Alonso WEC 2019
Tsunoda Formula 4 2018
Russell Russell 2018
Leclerc Formula 2 2017
Norris Formula 3 2017
Gasly GP2 2016
Stroll Formula 3 2016
Ocon GP3 2015
Giovinazzi Formula 3 2015
Sainz Formula Renault 3.5 2014
Vettel Formula 1 2013
Verstappen Karting 2013
Latifi Karting 2012
Bottas Formula 3 2011
Ricciardo Formula 3 2009
Raikkonen Formula 1 2007
Perez Formula 3 2007
Mazepin - -

Join the conversation!

EXCLUSIVE Haas to confirm first driver for 2025