Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Formula E

Wehrlein triumphs at opening Formula E race in Mexico

The first Formula E race of 2024 was won by Pascal Wehrlein in a lights-to-flag victory, ahead of Sebastian Buemi and Nick Cassidy.

Mexico Formula E
To news overview © Dom Romney / Formula E

Formula E is back again! The Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez in Mexico hosted the first E-Prix of the 2024 season.

Fastest man in qualifying Pascal Wehrlein took pole from Sebastien Buemi, after the Porsche driver managed to go 0.251s quicker than the Envision driver.

During the race, Wehrlein managed to hold on to his lead advantage having only conceded position when he took his Attack Mode and during a brief yellow flag period.

The German was briefly under investigation for a technical violation, but was later allowed to retain his victory.

Buemi followed the Porsche home to take second, ahead of Nick Cassidy who was debuting for the Jaguar team.

Disappointing day for some

The start of the race was chaotic, with several yellow flags being waved, including due to a crash between Nico Muller and Antonio Felix Da Costa.

Robin Frijns fell from seventh position to P15 at the start due to a technical error. After he managed to regain some spots, he crashed on lap 9 on exiting the Foro Sol, resulting in a so-called full course yellow.

It was also a disappointing weekend for Nyck de Vries. The Dutchman was making his return to the electric series after being ousted from AlphaTauri in Formula 1.

De Vries was racing for Mahindra and started on the Blackfoot, after he qualified at P22 and did not manage to score any points. He finished in fifteenth position.

2024 Mexico E-Prix results

Position Driver Team
1 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche
2 Sébastien Buemi Envision
3 Nick Cassidy Jaguar
4 Maximilian Günther Maserati
5 Mitch Evans Jaguar
6 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Penske
7 Jake Hughes McLaren
8 Stoffel Vandoorne DS Penske
9 Jake Dennis Andretti
10 Norman Nato Andretti
11 Oliver Rowland Nissan
12 Sacha Fenestraz Nissan
13 Edoardo Mortara Mahindra
14 Sam Bird McLaren
15 Nyck de Vries Mahindra
16 Jehan Daruvala Mahindra
17 Nico Müller Team Abt
18 Daniel Ticktum ERT
DNF Robin Frijns Envision
DNF Lucas Di Grassi Abt
DNF António Félix da Costa Porsche
DNF Sérgio Sette Câmara ERT

Don't miss out on any of the F1 action thanks to this handy 2024 F1 calendar that can be easily loaded into your smartphone or PC.

Download our F1 calendar


Pos. Driver Points
Pos. Team Points
Full standings
LATEST Verstappen has 'full trust' in Red Bull's radical concept