Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Lewis Hamilton

Hamilton ends career-worst drought to further extend F1 record

The Mercedes driver returned to a grand prix podium for the first time this season in Spain.

Hamilton Spain
To news overview © XPBimages

For the 198th time in 342 attempts, Lewis Hamilton stood on the Formula 1 podium with the 39th third-place finish of his career. 

But this was Hamilton's first podium in a grand prix since the 2023 Mexico City Grand Prix, some 13 races ago - not counting the second place he got in the '24 China sprint as they do not count towards official podium records.

It is the longest run of Hamilton's career without a rostrum visit, with his failure to grab a top-three finish in Canada in the previous race actually breaking his own record of 11 that was set between the 2008 Brazilian (yes, that race) and 2009 Hungarian Grands Prix. 

In claiming podium #198, Hamilton has also extended his record to 18 consecutive seasons with a podium, stretching back to his debut at the 2007 Australian GP, where he finished third for McLaren. 

He already held that record since banking yet another third place at the 2022 season-opener in Bahrain, eclipsing Michael Schumacher's record of 15 straight years as he began his 16th season. 

In case you were wondering, Hamilton also an all-time record of 56 second-place finishes to his name, to go with the 103 wins. 

But he does not hold the record for most P3 finishes in F1, which goes to 2007 world champion Kimi Raikkonen on 45, just six ahead of Hamilton, whose next podium will be his 150th for Mercedes.

Longest runs without a podium for Lewis Hamilton in F1

Rank Start of run End of run Races
1. Sao Paulo 2023 Spain 2024 13
2. Brazil 2008 Hungary 2009 11
3. Italy 2013 Malaysia 2014 10
4. Saudi Arabia 2022 Canada 2022 8
=5 Hungary 2011 Korea 2011 6
=5 Singapore 2012 United States 2012 6
=5 Belgium 2022 United States 2022 6

Join the conversation!

PODCAST Verstappen's brutal radio wrath causes Red Bull tension