Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Formula 1

Formula 1 2021 driver lineup

Now that Lewis Hamilton has signed a one-year contract with Mercedes, the 2021 Formula grid is complete. Which team or driver will you be cheering for this season?

Start GP Groot-Brittannië 2020
To news overview © Getty Images/Red Bull Contentpool

After Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes announced they will stick together for the 2021 Formula 1 season, all 20 seats are filled for the upcoming season.

The Brit will once again line up alongside Valtteri Bottas, but there have been several changes elsewhere on the grid. Max Verstappen will have his fourth teammate in the last four years with Sergio Perez joining Red Bull from Racing Point, while Carlos Sainz has moved to Ferrari in place of the departing Sebastian Vettel. The German remains in Formula 1, having joined Aston Martin after the team's rebranding.

Daniel Ricciardo replaces Sainz at McLaren, while the seat he left open at Alpine has been filled by returning two-time world champion Fernando Alonso.

Haas have said goodbye to Kevin Magnussen and Romain Grosjean and will feature two rookies in 2021. Mick Schumacher makes the step up from Formula 2 after his title winning campaign in 2020, and he is joined by fellow debutant Nikita Mazepin. The third and finally rookie on the grid is Yuki Tsunoda, who takes over from Daniil Kvyat at AlphaTauri.

Meanwhile Alfa Romeo and Williams will feature the same driver lineup as last season, as George Russell remains with the British manufacturer despite being mentioned as a possible replacement for Lewis Hamilton at Mercedes.

Check out the full 2021 grid in the table below!

2020 Formula 1 teams and drivers

Team Driver
Mercedes Valtteri Bottas
Lewis Hamilton
Ferrari Charles Leclerc
Carlos Sainz
Red Bull Max Verstappen
Sergio Perez
McLaren Daniel Ricciardo
Lando Norris
Alpine Fernando Alonso
Esteban Ocon
AlphaTauri Pierre Gasly
Yuki Tsunoda
Aston Martin Sebastian Vettel
Lance Stroll
Alfa Romeo Kimi Raikkonen
Antonio Giovinazzi
Haas Mick Schumacher
Nikita Mazepin
Williams George Russell
Nicholas Latifi

Join the conversation!

POLL Should Red Bull reconsider re-signing Perez for 2025?