Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
F1 2023

Final 2023 F1 calendar confirmed after China decision

Hopes that the Chinese Grand Prix might be saved for 2023 have failed, with no replacement event on the schedule.

XPB 1187681 Hi Res
To news overview © XPBimages

The 2023 Formula 1 season will feature 23 races after the Chinese Grand Prix was officially called off.

Hopes were raised that F1 could return to Shanghai in April following the dropping of 'zero COVID' restrictions by the Chinese government for the first race since 2019.

However, RacingNews365.com understands that a letter was sent to the track last week stating the race in 2023 was not possible and that a return would have to wait until 2024, at the earliest.

In its mid-April slot, it is understood that the Portuguese Grand Prix was a leading candidate to replace China, but the decision has been taken to stick with 23 Grands Prix.

It means that after the Australian Grand Prix on April 2nd, there will not be another race until the Azerbaijan Grand Prix on April 30th.

The season will also feature three races in the United States, in Miami (May 7th), Austin for the US Grand Prix (October 22nd) and the Las Vegas Grand Prix on November 18th in F1's first Saturday race since the 1985 South African GP.

The British Grand Prix is at Silverstone on July 9th.

The full, confirmed 2023 F1 calendar is available to view in the table below, and you can download it here.

2023 Formula 1 calendar

Race Venue Date
Bahrain Sakhir March 5th
Saudi Arabia Jeddah March 19th
Australia Melbourne April 2nd
Azerbaijan Baku April 30th
Miami Miami Gardens May 7th
Emilia Romagna Imola May 21st
Monaco Monte Carlo May 28th
Spain Barcelona June 4th
Canada Montreal June 18th
Austria Spielberg July 2nd
Great Britain Silverstone July 9th
Hungary Budapest July 23rd
Belgium Spa-Francorchamps July 30th
Netherlands Zandvoort August 27th
Italy Monza September 3rd
Singapore Singapore September 17th
Japan Suzuka September 24th
Qatar Lusail October 8th
United States Austin October 22nd
Mexico Mexico City October 29th
Sao Paulo Interlagos November 5th
Las Vegas Las Vegas November 18th
Abu Dhabi Yas Marina November 26th

Also interesting:

Join the conversation!

BREAKING FIA changes controversial 'Verstappen rule' to offer Antonelli early F1 debut hope