Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

Every World Champion in F1 history

Formula 1 began in 1950 and since then many legendary drivers and teams have dazzled audiences around the world. From Juan Manuel Fangio to Alberto Ascari, Ayrton Senna to Michael Schumacher, Lewis Hamilton to Max Verstappen, F1 has crowned many champions over the years.

We've compiled a list of every F1 Drivers' and Constructors' World Champion through the decades. Explore all the F1 world champions by year below.

Hamilton winst race spanje © Mercedes

All F1 Drivers' World Champions by year

Year Driver
1950 Giuseppe Farina (ITA)
1951 Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)
1952 Alberto Ascari (ITA)
1953 Alberto Ascari (ITA)
1954 Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)
1955 Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)
1956 Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)
1957 Juan Manuel Fangio (ARG)
1958 Mike Hawthorn (GBR)
1959 Jack Brabham (AUS)
1960 Jack Brabham (AUS)
1961 Phil Hill (USA)
1962 Graham Hill (GBR)
1963 Jim Clark (GBR)
1964 John Surtees (GBR)
1965 Jim Clark (GBR)
1966 Jack Brabham (AUS)
1967 Denis Hulme (NZL)
1968 Graham Hill (GBR)
1969 Jackie Stewart (GBR)
1970 Jochen Rindt (AUT)
1971 Jackie Stewart (GBR)
1972 Emerson Fittipaldi (BRA)
1973 Jackie Stewart (GBR)
1974 Emerson Fittipaldi (BRA)
1975 Niki Lauda (AUT)
1976 James Hunt (GBR)
1977 Niki Lauda (AUT)
1978 Mario Andretti (USA)
1979 Jody Scheckter (RSA)
1980 Alan Jones (AUS)
1981 Nelson Piquet (BRA)
1982 Keke Rosberg (FIN)
1983 Nelson Piquet (BRA)
1984 Niki Lauda (AUT)
1985 Alain Prost (FRA)
1986 Alain Prost (FRA)
1987 Nelson Piquet (BRA)
1988 Ayrton Senna (BRA)
1989 Alain Prost (FRA)
1990 Ayrton Senna (BRA)
1991 Ayrton Senna (BRA)
1992 Nigel Mansell (GBR)
1993 Alain Prost (FRA)
1994 Michael Schumacher (GER)
1995 Michael Schumacher (GER)
1996 Damon Hill (GBR)
1997 Jacques Villeneuve (CAN)
1998 Mika Häkkinen (FIN)
1999 Mika Häkkinen (FIN)
2000 Michael Schumacher (GER)
2001 Michael Schumacher (GER)
2002 Michael Schumacher (GER)
2003 Michael Schumacher (GER)
2004 Michael Schumacher (GER)
2005 Fernando Alonso (SPA)
2006 Fernando Alonso (SPA)
2007 Kimi Räikkönen (FIN)
2008 Lewis Hamilton GBR)
2009 Jenson Button GBR)
2010 Sebastian Vettel (GER)
2011 Sebastian Vettel (GER)
2012 Sebastian Vettel (GER)
2013 Sebastian Vettel (GER)
2014 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
2015 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
2016 Nico Rosberg (GER)
2017 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
2018 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
2019 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
2020 Lewis Hamilton (GBR)
2021 Max Verstappen (NED)
2022 Max Verstappen (NED)
2023 Max Verstappen (NED)
F1 world champions

All Formula 1 Constructors' World Champions

Year Constructor
1958 Vanwall
1959 Cooper
1960 Cooper
1961 Ferrari
1962 BRM
1963 Lotus
1964 Ferrari
1965 Lotus
1966 Brabham
1967 Brabham
1968 Lotus
1969 Matra
1970 Lotus
1971 Tyrrell
1972 Lotus
1973 Lotus
1974 McLaren
1975 Ferrari
1976 Ferrari
1977 Ferrari
1978 Lotus
1979 Ferrari
1980 Williams
1981 Williams
1982 Ferrari
1983 Ferrari
1984 McLaren
1985 McLaren
1986 Williams
1987 Williams
1988 McLaren
1989 McLaren
1990 McLaren
1991 McLaren
1992 Williams
1993 Williams
1994 Williams
1995 Benetton
1996 Williams
1997 Williams
1998 McLaren
1999 Ferrari
2000 Ferrari
2001 Ferrari
2002 Ferrari
2003 Ferrari
2004 Ferrari
2005 Renault
2006 Renault
2007 Ferrari
2008 Ferrari
2009 Brawn GP
2010 Red Bull Racing
2011 Red Bull Racing
2012 Red Bull Racing
2013 Red Bull Racing
2014 Mercedes
2015 Mercedes
2016 Mercedes
2017 Mercedes
2018 Mercedes
2019 Mercedes
2020 Mercedes
2021 Mercedes
2022 Red Bull Racing
2023 Red Bull Racing

Who won the most championships in F1 history?

Lewis Hamilton and Michael Schumacher hold the record for the most Formula 1 World Championships in history, with both drivers winning seven world titles each.

What is the most succesful F1 team ever?

Determining the most successful Formula 1 team can vary depending on the criteria used. Factors such as longevity, total wins, and the specific era being considered all play a role. For instance, while Scuderia Ferrari holds the record for the most Constructors' Championships, other teams like McLaren and Williams have also had periods of dominance in F1 history. Therefore, it's essential to consider various metrics when assessing the success of F1 teams.

Who has the most wins in a single F1 season

No F1 driver was ever as dominant in a season as Max Verstappen in 2023. He won nineteen out of twenty-three Grand Prix races, which is a win percentage of 86.36% in 2024. Looking at the win percentage, Michael Schumacher comes second with a win percentage of 72.2%. Regarding the number of wins in a season, Sebastian Vettel and Michael Schumacher both come second with thirteen wins.

How many drivers are world champion?

There have been 33 drivers who have won the Formula 1 World Drivers' Championship since its inception in 1950. These drivers have achieved the world title through their exceptional performance over the course of a Formula 1 season.

Which Formula 1 team has won the most championships?

The Formula 1 team with the most World Constructors' Championships is Ferrari. The Italian team has won a total of 16 Constructors' Championships in Formula 1.

Who has the most wins in 1 year F1?

Max Verstappen has the most wins in a single year in F1. In 2023, he won an exceptional 19 times out of the 22 Grand Prix races that season. This is the highest number of wins in a single year in F1.

Has an American ever won the F1 world championship?

An American driver has never won the Formula 1 World Championship. While there have been American drivers in Formula 1 and some have achieved success, none have clinched the championship title. Notable American drivers in F1 history include Mario Andretti, Phil Hill, and Dan Gurney, among others, but none of them won the championship.
RESULTS 2024 F1 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix