Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Formula E

Evans snatches victory from Cassidy during added time in Brazil

Mitch Evans snatched the lead from Nick Cassidy during added time in the São Paulo E-Prix.

Evans Brazil E Prix
To news overview © Jaguar TCS Racing

Mitch Evans took victory from Nick Cassidy in a thrilling end to the São Paulo E-Prix.

The Jaguar driver snatched the victory from Cassidy in the final four laps of added-time, and managed to hold him off in a close finish to the chequered flag.

Evans managed to stay in the podium positions after starting in third on the grid, while Cassidy worked his way up from sixth on the grid.

The pair battled for third early on, then made use of their attack modes on pole sitter Stoffel Vandoorne and got past to fight for the lead.

Vandoorne dropped outside the top five towards the end after getting overtaken by teammate Jean-Eric Vergne and Antonio Felix Da Costa.

The Penske driver appeared to use up more energy while leading the race early on, and elected to drop back midway through.

However this tactic put him in more traffic and enabled Bird to come through along with a charging Da Costa, who was working his way back through the field after out-braking himself into Turn 1 and losing positions while in third.

Championship leaders Jake Dennis and Pascal Wehrlein collided during the race, with the Andretti driver being forced to retire due to sustaining damage in the contact.

Wehrlein managed to hang on and extend his championship lead over Dennis after finishing in seventh.

View the full results below.

Position Driver Team
1 Mitch Evans Envision Racing
2 Nick Cassidy Jaguar TCS Racing
3 Sam Bird Jaguar TCS Racing
4 Antonio Felix Da Costa Porsche
5 Jean Eric Vergne DS Penske
6 Stoffel Vandoorne DS Penske
7 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche
8 Jake Hughes McLaren
9 Rene Rast McLaren
10 Sebastian Buemi Envision Racing
11 Max Gunther Maserati MSG Racing
12 Andre Lotterer Avalanche Andretti
13 Lucas di Grassi Mahindra Racing
14 Dan Ticktum NIO 333 Racing
15 Robin Frijns ABT Cupra
16 Oliver Rowland Mahindra Racing
17 Sergio Sette Camera NIO 333 Racing
DNF Nico Muller ABT Cupra
DNF Edoardo Mortara Maserati MSG Racing
DNF Jake Dennis Avalanche Andretti
DNF Sacha Fenestraz Nissan
DNF Norman Nato Nissan

In this article

Join the conversation!

LATEST Verstappen turns to painkillers after being left 'broken' by brutal Imola