Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
F1 2022

2022 F1 calendar announced

A record-breaking 23-race calendar has been announced for the 2022 Formula 1 season, including the arrival of Miami and the return of the Australian, Canadian, Singapore and Japanese Grands Prix.

Bahrain start
To news overview © Alpine

Formula 1 have announced a 23-round calendar for the 2022 season.

As revealed by RacingNews365.com, the season will start in Bahrain on 20 March and end in Abu Dhabi on 20 November.

The Australian, Canadian, Singapore and Japanese Grands Prix all return to the F1 schedule after being absent since 2019 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

2022 F1 calendar

Round Grand Prix Date
1 Bahrain 20 March
2 Saudi Arabia 27 March
3 Australia 10 April
4 Emilia Romagna* 24 April
5 United States (Miami)** 8 May
6 Spain* 22 May
7 Monaco 29 May
8 Azerbaijan 12 June
9 Canada 19 June
10 Great Britain 3 July
11 Austria 10 July
12 France 24 July
13 Hungary 31 July
14 Belgium 28 August
15 Netherlands 4 September
16 Italy (Monza) 11 September
17 Russia 25 September
18 Singapore* 2 October
19 Japan 9 October
20 United States (Austin)* 23 October
21 Mexico 30 October
22 Brazil 13 November
23 Abu Dhabi 20 November

*Subject to contract

**Subject to FIA circuit homologation

F1 heads to Miami

A key change to the calendar is that the Chinese Grand Prix will not take place next year, so Imola (Emilia Romagna) has stepped into the traditional April slot that is usually held by Shanghai.

New arrival Miami will feature on 8 May, followed by the next back-to-back sequence in Spain (22 May) and Monaco (29 May). In a change to the usual format, Monaco is expected to move to a Friday/Saturday/Sunday weekend, having traditionally held practice on Thursday.

Despite the almost 9,000km between them, Azerbaijan (12 June) and Canada (19 June) have also been twinned.

Back-to-backs will follow in Great Britain (3 July) and Austria (10 July), and France (24 July) and Hungary (31 July).

A busy second half

Hungary (31 July) and Belgium (28 August) take up their usual spots on either side of the summer break. As per 2021, Spa-Francorchamps will be quickly followed by trips to Zandvoort in the Netherlands (4 September) and Monza (11 September) as part of a triple-header.

Another consecutive trio of races follow; Russia is scheduled for 25 September, with the returning Singapore and Japanese Grands Prix on the first two weekends in October.

In the final stages of the season, the United States (Austin) and Mexico will run across the final two weekends of October, with Brazil (13 November) and Abu Dhabi (20 November) bringing the championship to a close.

Join the conversation!

LIVE 2024 F1 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix - Qualifying