Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

Verstappen Japan pole in doubt as stewards investigate Norris incident

Max Verstappen could lose Japanese Grand Prix pole after an incident involving Lando Norris.

Max Verstappen could lose Japanese Grand Prix pole position as he has been summoned to the Formula 1 stewards for a Q3 incident involving Lando Norris. On their respective out-laps on the first Q3 runs, Verstappen was going slowly, preparing for a fast lap through 130R, with Norris doing similar in the McLaren. As Norris opened up for a lap, Verstappen had a moment, forcing Norris to take avoiding action and not crash broadside into the Red Bull. Verstappen's 1m:29.304s effort was enough to take pole with Norris 10th. The Dutch driver has been called to see the stewards at 17:00 local time in Japan (09:00am BST, 10:00am CET for a breach of Article 33.4 of the Sporting Regulations. This regulation states that: 'At no time, may a car be driven unnecessarily slowly, erratically or in a manner which could be deemed potentially dangerous to other drivers or any other person.' Verstappen did apologise for the move, but Norris felt a penalty was deserved.

x
RESULTS 2024 F1 pre-season testing - Day 2