Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Ayrton Senna

The poignant Senna and Ratzenberger link to the 2024 Bahrain Grand Prix

The season-opening Bahrain Grand Prix has a poignant link to the deaths of Ayrton Senna and Roland Ratzenberger at Imola 30 years ago.

This year will mark 30 years since the deaths of Roland Ratzenberger and Ayrton Senna in the 1994 San Marino Grand Prix weekend.

The tragic events of Imola ushered in a series of rule changes and safety advancements that meant it would be 20 years before another driver suffered injuries which would prove fatal when Jules Bianchi succumbed to his 2014 Japanese Grand Prix injuries in July 2015.

The deaths of Ratzenberger, in just his second Grand Prix weekend and three-time World Champion Senna, hold a poignant link to the season-opening race of 2024 - the Bahrain Grand Prix.

The Ratzenberger and Senna link

The 1994 San Marino GP weekend was race number #551 in the history of the World Championship from the first at Silverstone for the 1950 British Grand Prix.

This weekend's Bahrain GP is race number #1102 meaning half of the total number of World Championship Grands Prix ever held have been done so since Ratzenberger and Senna were killed.

The fact that F1 has held 551 races, as of this weekend, in 30 seasons since Imola also goes to show the calendar expansion.

1994 was the 45th season of the World Championship, with an average of 12.2 races per year. To get through 551 races in 30 seasons, this climbs to 18.3 races per year.

The table below shows some landmark F1 Grands Prix.

Landmark F1 Grands Prix

Number Race Year Winner
1 British 1950 Giuseppe Farina
100 Germany 1961 Stirling Moss
200 Monaco 1971 Jackie Stewart
300 South Africa 1978 Ronnie Peterson
400 Austria 1984 Niki Lauda
500 Australia 1990 Nelson Piquet
551 San Marino 1994 Michael Schumacher
600 Argentina 1997 Jacques Villeneuve
700 Brazil 2003 Giancarlo Fisichella
800 Singapore 2008 Fernando Alonso
803 Brazil 2008 Felipe Massa
900 Bahrain 2014 Lewis Hamilton
1,000 China 2019 Lewis Hamilton
1,057 Abu Dhabi 2021 Max Verstappen
1,100 Las Vegas 2023 Max Verstappen
1,102 Bahrain 2024
			© Photo4
	© Photo4

Join the conversation!

INTERVIEW Exclusive: Newey identifies 'hidden' F1 problem: 'We're no longer the best'