Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Formula 1

The F1 interest in the 2024 Daytona 24 Hours

Some familiar names are taking part in this weekend's twice around-the-clock endurance race at Daytona - including one World Champion.

Rinus VeeKay Daytona 24 2023
To news overview © TDS Racing

2009 Formula 1 World Champion Jenson Button is just one of nine former Grand Prix drivers set to take part in this weekend's Daytona 24 Hours.

Button is gunning for overall victory in the GTP class aboard his Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti Acura machine, being paired with Colton Herta, Louis Deletraz and Jordan Taylor in the #40.

Button's #40 Acura is to roll off in fifth place after qualifying, with the #31 Whelan Cadillac Racing of Pipo Derani, Tom Blomqvist and one-time Grand Prix starter Jack Aitken on pole.

The race itself begins at 18:40 GMT on Saturday 27th January, with scenes for the as-yet-untitled F1 film staring Brad Pitt and produced by Lewis Hamilton being shot across the event.

For the full-list of former F1 drivers and other notable entrants in the 2024 Daytona 24 Hours, see the table below.

Former F1 and other notable drivers in 2024 Daytona 24 Hours

Driver Team Class
Sebastien Bourdais #01 Cadillac Racing GTP
Gianmaria Bruni #5 Proton GTP
Felipe Nasr #7 Porsche Penske Motorsport GTP
Marcus Ericsson #10 Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti GTP
Brendon Hartley #10 Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti GTP
Jack Aitken #31 Whelan Cadillac Racing GTP
Jenson Button #40 Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti GTP
Paul di Resta #22 United Autosports LMP2
Felipe Massa #74 Riley Motorsports LMP2
Alexander Rossi #9 Pfaff Motorsports GTD-Pro
Romain Grosjean #60 Iron Lynx GTD-Pro

The fight for overall victory in Florida is set to be tough, with Button being joined with IndyCar champions Scott Dixon and Josef Newgarden in the GTP class, multiple Le Mans 24 Hour victors as well as 2022 Indianapolis 500 winner Marcus Ericsson.

Other notable drivers in Daytona 24 Hours

Driver Known for
Scott Dixon Six-time IndyCar champion, 2008 Indy 500 winner
Alex Palou Reigning two-time IndyCar champion
Romain Dumas Three-time Le Mans 24 Hour winner, and 2016 WEC champion
Neel Jani Le Mans 24 Hours winner, 2016 WEC champion
Nick Tandy 2015 Le Mans 24 Hours winner
Josef Newgarden Two-time IndyCar champion, 2023 Indy 500 winner
Rene Rast Three-time DTM champion
Pato O'Ward McLaren IndyCar driver, F1 tester
Scott McLaughlin Three-time Australian Supercars champion, IndyCar driver
Felix Rosenqvist IndyCar driver
Earl Bamber 2015 Le Mans 24 Hours winner
James Hinchcliffe Former IndyCar driver
Mike Conway Two-time WEC champion, and Le Mans 24 Hours winner
James Calado 2023 Le Mans 24 Hours winner
Alessandro Pier Guidi 2023 Le Mans 24 Hours winner

Don't miss out on any of the F1 action thanks to this handy 2024 F1 calendar that can be easily loaded into your smartphone or PC.

Download our F1 calendar


Pos. Driver Points
Pos. Team Points
Full standings
LATEST Verstappen has 'full trust' in Red Bull's radical concept