Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Aston Martin

Stroll learns verdict as stewards question F1 rule book

Both Aston Martin drivers were summoned over separate Q1 incidents in qualifying for the British Grand Prix.

Stroll Imola
Article
To news overview © XPBimages

Lance Stroll has received a reprimand whilst his Aston Martin team escaped a penalty after investigations from British Grand Prix stewards in qualifying. 

Stroll was called to see the stewards after exiting the pit lane under red flag conditions in Q1 just as the session was suspended for the beached Sergio Perez after an off at Copse.

The stewards found that Stroll had just 0.8s to react to the red light as he left his pit box after switching to slick tyres as the track dried. 

This short period of time was taken into account by the stewards, who also noted that as the track was red-flagged, Stroll would have gained no advantage. 

However, it was noted that it is the driver's responsibility to comply with the signals at all times, with a reprimand - Stroll's second of the season - being imposed.

As for Aston Martin itself, it escaped a penalty after being adjudged to have worked on Fernando Alonso's car in the fast lane of the pit lane as the field waited to go back on track under the Perez red flag. 

It was found that a a team member had place a jack under the rear of the AMR24 machine, moving its location, deemed to be working on the car.

This work was not covered under the race director's notes as a "specific exception" to working in the fast lane.

The stewards then found that it is a common practice for teams to move drivers under red flags in the fast lane, with the regulations "currently silent" on the the matter.

As Aston did not delay the session or gain any advantage with Alonso, it was decided to not award a penalty.

It means that Stroll keeps eighth on the grid and Alonso will line-up in 10th.

Join the conversation!

x
PODCAST Verstappen's brutal radio wrath causes Red Bull tension