Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

Starting grid for the 2023 Indy 500

Here is the starting grid for the 2023 Indianapolis 500, which will be held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Alex Palou starts from pole for Chip Ganassi Racing at the Indianapolis 500.

The Spaniard broke the record for the four-lap average pole speed in qualifying last Sunday to beat Rinus Veekay and Felix Rosenqvist to the top spot.

Arrow McLaren had four cars in the top 10, whilst Stefan Wilson was forced to withdraw after a practice crash earlier in the week and has been replaced by Graham Rahal, who initially missed out on a spot in the field through qualifying.

2023 Indy 500 starting grid

Position Alignment Driver Team
1 Inside Alex Palou Chip Ganassi Racing
2 Middle Rinus Veekay Ed Carpenter Racing
3 Outside Felix Rosenqvist Arrow McLaren
4 Inside Santino Ferrucci A.J. Foyt Racing
5 Middle Patricio O'Ward Arrow McLaren
6 Outside Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing
7 Inside Alexander Rossi Arrow McLaren
8 Middle Takuma Sato Chip Ganassi Racing
9 Outside Tony Kanaan Arrow McLaren
10 Inside Marcus Ericsson Chip Ganassi Racing
11 Middle Benjamin Pedersen A.J. Foyt Racing
12 Outside Will Power Team Penske
13 Inside Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing
14 Middle Scott McLaughlin Team Penske
15 Outside Kyle Kirkwood Andretti Autosport
16 Inside Conor Daly Ed Carpenter Racing
17 Middle Josef Newgarden Team Penske
18 Outside Ryan Hunter-Reay Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
19 Inside Romain Grosjean Andretti Autosport
20 Middle Helio Castroneves Meyer Shank Racing
21 Outside Colton Herta Andretti Autosport
22 Inside Simon Pagenaud Meyer Shank Racing
23 Middle David Malukas Dale Coyne Racing
24 Outside Marco Andretti Andretti Herta Motorsport
25 Inside Devlin DeFrancesco Andretti Autosport
26 Middle Agustin Canapino Juncos Hollinger Racing
27 Outside Callum Ilott Juncos Hollinger Racing
28 Inside R.C. Enerson Abel Motorsports
29 Middle Katherine Legge Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
30 Outside Christian Lundgaard Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
31 Inside Sting Ray Robb Dale Coyne Racing
32 Middle Jack Harvey Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
33 Outside Graham Rahal Dreyer & Reinbold Racing

Join the conversation!

HOW TO WATCH 2024 Le Mans 24 Hours