Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Formula E

Seven teams commit to Formula E's new era of competition

Formula E has confirmed seven manufacturer teams that will race next season, kicking off a new era in the series with the introduction of the Gen3 car.

Formula E Berlin start
To news overview © Formule E

Seven teams have signed up with the FIA to race in the next season of the Formula E World Championship, when the new Gen3 car will make its debut.

The latest iteration of the Formula E race car is set to be unveiled on 28 April, ahead of the Monaco E-Prix.

Seven manufacturer teams have put pen to paper to race next season, which includes the arrival of Italian marque Maserati.

The seven confirmed manufacturers are as follows:

  • DS Automobiles, France
  • Jaguar, UK
  • Mahindra, India
  • Maserati, Italy
  • NIO 333, UK and China
  • Nissan, Japan
  • Porsche AG, Germany

The full list of teams racing next season will be confirmed later in 2022.

FIA President welcomes the manufacturer's commitment

Speaking in the wake of the announcement, FIA President Mohammed Ben Sulayem said the governing body is thrilled to be able to welcome the commitment of seven leading manufacturers.

"We are delighted to confirm the commitment of seven of the world's leading car manufacturers to the Gen3 era of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, and we look forward to seeing them battle against each other," he said.

"As a proving ground for future mobility, Formula E has always been at the cutting-edge of technology - as exemplified by the Gen3 single-seater - and we are confident that the forthcoming era will mark an exciting chapter in the series' electrifying story."

Also interesting:

F1 Podcast: Can anyone stop the Verstappen/Leclerc show?

RacingNews365.com F1 journalists Dieter Rencken, Mike Seymour, and Thomas Maher look back over the Saudi Arabia Grand Prix in Jeddah, which was won in dramatic fashion by Red Bull's Max Verstappen.

Don't miss out on any of the F1 action thanks to this handy 2023 F1 calendar that can be easily loaded into your smartphone or PC.

Download our F1 calendar